Marranitos (Mexican Pig-Shaped Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
The dough was too dry and crumbly, the second time I tied this, I used 5 cups of flour instead and it was still dry and crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
this turned out awesome! I used christmas cookie cutters and baked them for a little less than instructed. I also only used 5 cups of flour. They were a hit and reminded me of my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Excellent recipe turned out just like how they are cooked on the Rancho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Recipe was great i subbed in some honey and ginger and cut the molasses like other reviewers mentioned and they were soooo good. I didn't have a problem with them being too crumbly but I didn't use all the flour either. Just add the flour slowly not all at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I loved this recipe..... I didnt use all the flour, I added it as needed but overall this was the perfect recipe....Thanks I have been looking all over for it! So glad I found it:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crissnjuan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I WILL TRY THIS RECIPE CAUSE THE ORIGINAL SUGAR(PILONCILLO)THAT WE USE IS TO EXPENSIVE.IF YOU HAVE PROBLEMS WITH THIS DOUGH FOLLOW THE RECIPE THE WAY IT IS AND THEN LEAVE IT IN THE FRIDGE FOR ONE HOUR OR MORE.LIVING THE DOUGH IN THE FRIDGE WILL HELP TO WORK WITH IT WHEN YOU HAVE TO ROLL IN AND CUT THE SHAPE OF THE MARRANITO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aide19802002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I ended up only using 5 cups of flour - I don't think my mixer could have handled another cup. Other than that I used the recipe to a T. I think next time I'll only use 1 cup of brown sugar as I found these to be a little sweeter than the kind I'm used to - but at least I can have these anytime now instead of waiting until someone in the family visits or is visiting from Chicago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
These turned out well but I found the dough a little difficult to work with. I did end up using the full six cups of flour. 1/2 Molasses and 1/2 honey and dark brown sugar. I also added a little orange zest for additional flavor. I had a 3.75" pig cookie cutter and baked them for 12 minutes. I would go a little less next time so they are a bit softer. The centers were soft but the feet were crunchy. Good dunkers for hot tea. The Mexican guys at work really liked them. I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
So, i didnt happen to have a pig shaped cookie cutter lying around, so i used the basis of this recipe for drop cookies! Well, i only used 3.75 cups of flour rather than 6, and 3/4 cup of molasses with 1/4 cup of light corn syrup. I added a dash of ginger, and they were delicious! Now they are a family must-have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
These were great! The dough was crumbly so I kept having to add shortening...i almost gave up. I'm glad I didnt! They are sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States