Marrakesh Vegetable Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I took the advice of others. I doubled the curry, turmeric and garlic. I also put 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper. I served this over rice. Is good as a stew as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I've made this curry 3 times in the past week! The great thing is that there are so many vegetables in this recipe that if you don't have one of them on hand it won't be missed. We have found that we even like the leftovers served cold. Had to make substitutions and omissions as we can't easily get red bell pepper or spinach. So just left it out and used the local green leafy vegetable that is regularly available. I am having to use dried chick peas, so it takes a little longer but they really are good in the dish. Make sure to simmer in the orange juice with the lid on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Found this recipe by ingredient searching for something to do with eggplant. So glad I did. It was excellent. I did make a few changes. Forgot to get a sweet potato, so I used red potatoes. Doubled curry powder and cinnamon using 1 TBSP sweet curry powder and 1 TBSP spicy. Lessened salt to 1/2 tsp. Doubled almonds. Added 1/4 cup finely diced ginger. Next time would increase raisins to 1/3 or 1/2 a cup as they provide a pleasing sweet element. Next, to account for people saying some veggies were too hard while others were overcooked I started my Dutch oven with 3 TBSP oil and the spices. Next added carrot, onion and potatoes cooked 3-4 min. Added OJ, raisins, and chickpeas. Cooked 10 min. Then added all veggies except spinach. Cooked 10 min. while I made couscous. Stirred in spinach and cooked 5 min. Added 1/2 a lemon juiced at end to brighten as curry powder always has a base flavor to me that needs an acid to contrast with it. All veggies were perfect and it was delicious. This way the eggplant sucks up all the good juice and spices rather than just oil. Added extra 1/2 cup of OJ as it needed more. Must say spinach was from the farmers market and made a big difference in taste. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
It surprised me when it did not taste as good as I expected it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This was very tasty. Followed the recipe pretty closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
We LOVED this dish and will repeat it many times I'm sure. I didn't use almonds because I didn't have them and I added some ginger. I also increased all of the spices a little but don't think you have to to make it good. I served it over Israeli coucous and it was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
WOW!!! Amazing! great flavors I left out eggplant since I didn't have it and I added a yellow potato and served over Israeli Cous Cous YUMM! Total keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Excellent recipe! Used carrot juice instead of orange juice with good results. Left out almonds because of husband's allergy, but next time I'll add some on top of my serving. Used brown jasmine rice underneath. I will keep this and make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
It is with great sadness that I give this recipe only three stars. I loved it myself (after reading the other reviews and adding extra spice), but it was not a big hit with my family. My partner is averse to savory dishes with raisins and cinnamon, and my 5-year-old liked it until he got "something mushy," at which point he began to cry. But I thought it was quite tasty. A nice blend of flavors, and a beautiful array of colors in the vegetables. Oh, and I substituted raw pistachios for the almonds, which I thought was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kv
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
wonderful as is and still versatile enough to add/ omit vegetables as per availabillity. The orange juice turns the dish sublime. Dont forget to add some fresh ginger in. complements the OJ wonderfully. Served it with some couscous that had been soaked in veggie broth and tossed in EVOO. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States