Marrakesh Vegetable Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
My mom is moroccan and I always wanted her recipe for what she called her cous cous. I decided to try this recipe just to see if it would come close. This recipe is almost exactly her recipe. I doubled the spices (except the cinamon and salt) and added about 1 tbs of corriander. I eyeballed the olive oil and I added a bit of beef broth to the mixture near the end because I like my curry more runny. You wouldn't want to add the broth in the end if you don't. I sauteed lamb pieces in olive oil and cumin prior to putting in with the veggies. I served over basic cous cous and it's almost exactly her recipe without taking 2 full days to prepare. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nskiddo21

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Silver Strand, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I think this is one of the best things I have ever eaten in my entire existence. I've made it 4 times in the last month! I despise eggplant, so I added an extra sweet potato and an extra zucchini, and it was fabulous, fabulous, fabulous. I do not add salt, and I used canned low-sodium garbanzo beans to cut back on the sodium. My neighbors smelled this cooking from next door, and ended up staying for dinner. The smell is indescribably intoxicating, not to mention the TASTE! This is definitely a keeper. Yes, you will be chopping until your arms want to fall off, but so what? The end result is worth it, thanks so much for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
This was a very hearty, colourful curry. We noticed a few errors in the recipe: The description says carrot-ginger but nowhwere in the ingredient list does it list ginger. In the Directions section, the ingredient cayenne is missing - should be added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This is a very tasty North African dish. I added a bit more spice and garlic to the the mixture because I don't like bland. This was served true Moroccan style over couscous....my husband loved it and said it brought back memories of his time in Casablanca. If one didn't want the vegetarian and wanted to keep with the Moroccan tradition, lamb cubes could also be added. I think I will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2002
Excellent flavours in this recipe, but it needs a little tweaking. I doubled the spices and found it to be quite zingy, however I can't imagine having how mild it would have been with the original amount of spice. This recipe serves 6 as a main course or 8 as a side dish. I used carrot orange juice and grated fresh ginger, which worked well. This is not a pretty dish to look at, but close your eyes and the flavours are beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2000
great flavor-be careful not to overcook te vegetables. the vegetables are best just a bit crisp. Add spinach just before serving up the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
Really flavourful, and easy to make I served over Basmati rice. I made this exactly according to the recipe except I used carrot juice with some fresh ginger and it was really good. The almonds are important to the texture, I really reccomend trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
Fabulous recipe! I served this curry over Coconut Rice (from this website) and made it for a group. Raves all around from my young kids, my husband, our friends and even their teenagers. This is a new favorite--thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
We loved this recipe. I added more spices, as we prefer things really spicy, but the basic recipe was easy and delicious. It really impresses guests, and makes the house smell wonderful. I also used a white potato instead of sweet, and left out the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Fantastic flavor! I juiced the one cup of carrot juice along with about 3" of fresh ginger, which made the dish. I don't care for eggplant or spinach, but didn't notice the eggplant and the spinach was actually delicious! I might double the almonds next time. I learned you can blanch them by boiling about 1/2 cup water in the microwave and then add the almonds. Let rest about 30 seconds and then pop the skins off using a paper towel to squeeze them out. THANK YOU so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States