Marrakesh Vegetable Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
We did not really like this. The flavor was okay (we doubled everything except the cayenne and cinnamon) but a little too sweet for us. Also, we really did not like the spinach in this dish at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Tastes really good! Don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ransomedheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I thought this was very good - I reduced the cayenne to 1/2 tsp - it was still plenty spicy for me, almost too much, as the heat kind of overpowered the other fragrant flavors of the dish. I had no spinach on hand and no orange juice, so I used half vegetable stock, half coconut milk and as an afterthought added a tablespoon of orange marmalade. I also added a heaping teaspoon of grated ginger to the spice mix. That worked great - I had a nice subtle orange undertone without the dish being too sweet, as others had mentioned. I'd love to try it with the carrot-ginger juice, as the submitter suggested, as I think that would be excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
followed the recipe as directed, but doubled the spices except salt and cinnamon. I agree with another reviewer that it is just a pot of flavored vegetables. "Flavored" used loosely. Nothing special about this dish. I didn't enjoy eating this nor did my husband who will eat anything and say it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I made this for my friend's birthday and everyone loved it. I made it almost exactly like the recipe except a little more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This was fantastic!! One of my top meals of all time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I had to give this 5 stars because it is the best curry I have ever eaten. My house still smells good today. I read all reviews before making, and also doubled the spices, except for cinnamon and cayenne. I used a combo of mild and hot curry powder, so the extra heat was not necessary. I also added about 1/2 tsp. each of cumin and coriander. This dish blew us away, it was so sensational. I did not have zucchini and left it out. I could have subbed a yellow squash but decided it didn't need anything extra. Also, please use dried chickpeas if at all possible. The canned ones, even when drained and rinsed, just don't compare. We had Lundberg brown basmati rice on the side and will always use this combo. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Floridafoodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Delicious and unique. Seemed to make quite a large quantity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This is absolutely delicious!!! I followed the recipe exactly and found it to be great as is. I wasn't in the mood for something too spicy today, but as I usually enjoy my food really spicy, I'll probably double the spices as others have suggested the next time I make this (there will absolutely be a next time). Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
You would think from all the reviews calling for added spice, this is a bland recipe. Therefore, I AM REVIEWING THIS RECIPE FOR COOKS LIKE ME WHO LOVE CURRY BUT HAVE A WIMPY PALATE AND PREFER LESS HEAT IN THEIR DISHES. While I enjoy cuisines that feature spicy foods, I don't like any dish to have too much heat. In restaurants which offer an option about spicing, I am always a 2 or 3. Despite that handicap, I LOVED this curry. It is the first curry I've ever made and it turned out perfectly. I knew enough to cut back on the cayenne pepper (I used 1/4 tsp) and it was still too hot for me. Next time, I will omit it. And there WILL be a next time. WHIMPY EATERS--don't shy away from this recipe: just adjust your spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Deposit, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States