Marmalade Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Shelley
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Loved the the taste of orange zest from the marmalade. The marmalade does render down to liquid along with the pork juices making the pork on the dryer side. But this does have a good orange flavor. I did as suggested and used 1/4 cup of soy. Just right. With the liquid left in the roasting pan, put it in a pot and make gravy out of it for spooning over the pork chops and mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I have to give this 4 stars only because my husband didn't care for it as much as the rest of us. But I loved it...as well as all 4 children that were here to scarf it down. I followed others advice about using a bit more marmalade and adding some minced garlic. I also decreased the soy a bit so it wouldn't be too salty. My husband said it reminded him of the Orange Chicken from the Chinese place...and THAT is what he didn't like! LOL...odd person. But I think that I will DEFINITELY use this recipe again!! THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D89BUTTONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grain Valley, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
We loved this! Made just the way the author wrote it, it was delicious! Definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Gibson
Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
These were great, like others, I cut back on the soy sauce. I also added some ground cloves that really brought a great taste to it. Served it with a barley "stuffing", made with barley cooked in chicken broth with craisens and sage added. They went really well together, almost a Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Excellent, came out very tender. Turned chops over after 30 minutes. Turned again 10 minutes before end and left top off to brown. An excellent way to use that overly sweet marmalade that comes with the Christmas orange shipments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This has become an extremely easy go-to in my weekly meal rotation. My boyfriend is gluten intolerant, so we use Braggs Liquid Aminos instead of the soy sauce. I have used this successfully on chicken as well as pork, and with different jams and marmelades, but orange and peach work best. I pour all the marinade over the meat as it cooks, then, as the meat rests, the cooked marinade and meat juices go into a small pot. I heat it up, then add a tablespoon of corn starch mixed into cold water, and it thickens up into a lovely sauce to pour over the rice we eat with it. I don't think an hour is necessary to cook it, I do 30 minutes with the foil on, and 15 minutes off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
My family was really looking foward to this. I should have know it was to easy to be good. It was lacking in flavor and the so called glaze was more like flavored water. We will nevere do this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I used a heaping half cup of marmalade, and just short of a half cup of reduced-sodium soy sauce, and one large clove of garlic, for 4 chops w/bone. Cooked covered at 350' for 60 minutes and they came out tender and delicious! The sauce is mild, but good, and there was a LOT of leftover sauce. It might have helped having so much though in the tender/moist department, because the chops were practically swimming in sauce in the oven. Thanks for sharing this quick & easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Didn't have soy sauce or orange marmalade, so I used a ginger sesame marinade and apricot jelly. The chops were a bit dry. Next time I would reduce the juices and pour over chops and perhaps serve them with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Followed recipe exactly and found it too dry, even though there was lots of sauce to dip.(I used boneless pork chops)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States