Mark's Nearly Famous Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
When looking for this type of meal, I always come back this recipe. It's very good, and works for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBC150

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
I have made this recipe twice now. The first time it was awful...there was a taste in it that my husband and I just couldn't get past. It was the white vinegar and the liquid smoke. Next time I made it, I deleted those 2 ingredients and they turned out wonderful! I guess you have to make them to suite your own personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Trenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
I got roped into making sloppy joes for the office, (seems I have the only stove in town). Decided on this recipe because the ingredients felt right. I did cut back on the vinegar and lemon juice, and they were wonderful. It's definitly a keeper. Thanks Mark
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
THESE ARE THE BEST!!!!! You definately have this one perfected!!! It is worth the effort, and most of the ingredients are things that are always on hand! Thank you for the wonderful recipe...I will never make sloppy joes from a packet or can again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
I THOUGHT THIS WAS GOOD, BUT IF YOU HAVE TO BUY ALL THE INGRIDIENTS I THINK IT WOULD BE TOO EXPENSIVE. I THINK MY SLOPPY JOES(WITH ONION, KETCHUP, BBQ SAUCE AND A BIT OF BROWN SUGAR IS JUST AS GOOD..I HAVE EVEN BEEN OUT OF BROWN SUGAR AND USED WHITE SUGAR AND NOBODY KNEW THE DIFFERENCE). I THINK I WILL STICK WITH THE CHEAPER VERSION OF THE TWO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
I loved the looks of this recipe and tried it last night. I found it to be too vinagery for my taste. I added another can of tomato paste to slightly thicken & tone it down, let it set in the fridge overnight, and had it for lunch today. It was great. The next time I make this, I wiil go with 3 lbs hamburger, (freeze for when I go ice fishing for an easy meal), and lighten up on the vinager and lemon juice. Now to me, that will be the perfect sloppy joe! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
This was a little expensive to make with so many ingredients, however worth the expense and effort. Loved the taste. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
I give anyone credit who spends the time trying to perfect a recipe. In our house sloppy joes are for the nights I need to make "quickie dinners" and truthfully, the canned stuff works just fine. This was, however, pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
We thought this was just OK, but then we're not huge sloppy joe fans. I thought it was a little too tangy. I'll probably not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
We ate these, but none of use were too impressed with them. The vinegar taste was very strong. I guess we are used to a tomato-base sloppy joe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States