Mark's Nearly Famous Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This is one of my favorite recipes. I don't even like sloppy joes but this recipe I love them! I omited the vinegar and smoke flavoring. Instead of regular mustard I use dijon mustard. I also add a touch of cumin and a clove of garlic to mine. They are so good and it makes a lot - sometimes i freeze some of it and then on nights i am too busy to cook I can just pull it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This is one of the best sloppy Joes I've ever had! Made them for friends and they loved them. Now iImake these all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cloquet, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Loved this recipe, was expecting to be able to freeze at least half but these were gobbled down before I had a chance. Will be making these again. Would be great for a potluck. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
**3780 calories for the total recipe as written, (adding a 1/2 head of cabbage totals up to 3920)** I have been using this recipe for the past 10 YEARS, it was the 1st recipe I printed off the internet! :) Two big changes I have made: ~HALVE the vinegar and lemon juice. ~Chop up an entire head of cabbage in the food processor (to small crumbs) and add it to the doubled recipe (just a half head for the recipe as written). It might look like too much but it's not, it blends perfectly with the texture of the groundbeef and my family can't tell the difference when I make it without the cabbage. Cabbage is super cheap (and healthy!) and is a great way to really stretch the meat in this dish without gumming it up with oatmeal like so many recipes call for. This is a superb freezer meal--I make a double batch every couple months or whenever ground beef is on a great sale and bag it up in freezer bags. Quicker (and cheaper!) to just defrost a bag quickly than even opening a can and browning up the meat. My family gives this a two big thumbs up--with the caveat of the vinegar/lemon juice change ;) (oh, and you can use the un-condensed version of the gumbo soup if you can't find it, I've done that often with no noticeable difference, it'll just need to simmer a bit longer to compensate for the additional liquid. Another frugal hint: Aldi's often carries the uncondensed version in their Fit & Active brand if you have one of their stores nearby) Anyways, Thanks Mark, love the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
My Mom always used chicken gumbo soup in her Sloppy Joes. This was great..left out some of the vegetables but still sooo tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LeeAnnetteJ
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This recipe is awesome! I followed the recipe exactly as stated however, didn't have any liquid smoke - no problem - I am not a big fan of it anyway. But my kids devoured it. I was so skeptical at first......but it was absolutely fantastic. Didn't have time for a crock pot - simmered on the stove for 2 hrs. - PERFECTION!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeAnnetteJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Didn't chage a thing on this recipe and it's always a hit. Much better than the Manwitch I grew up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This is the best sloppy joe recipe I have ever tried. The kids love it and so do I. I don't change a thing!!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Gilbert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This recipe was very delicious & I'll be using it often. After mixing the ingredients, I simmered for 1/2 hour and served. I love the taste of fresh vegs. and all was consumed. This recipe is in my recipe box for future meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concrete, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
The big problem with this recipe is that it did not call for patience to wait the four hours or so to try it. this is so good that I craved the meal all day!! I have never rated a recipe before but this one is so so gooooood!!by the way I have sent this many of my friends so they could make it It is now famous as it 32 below zero where i live now and everyone is raving about these SJs thank you Mark
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States