Mark's English Sausage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
These were delicious! I did not use the mustard and also I also used english banger sausage meat instead. These were absolutely perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
thought this recipe was good but realized that I don't have any huge sausage fans in my house. next time I will try it with ground chourico and maybe a little cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
These are very good and super easy to make! I substituted the pastry sheets with crescent rolls because I found them first in the grocery store, but it turned out fine, though perhaps a bit more Americanized than English sausage rolls. Because of this, the prep time was only about 5 minutes. My rolls were finished at about 17 - 18 minutes at 400 degrees. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Mmm...very good! Not hard to make, very tasty. They are a little greasy, and next time I think I will use some of the tips from others on prepping them to not be so. I too added sage & onion powder to the sausage meat, jazzing it up a bit. I've never used puff pastry before, so now I'm inspired to try Jamaican patties with ground beef & curry next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinnammonngirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
My family loves this recipe. I used mild Italian sausage. When we tasted the rolls, there was something missing. My husband figured out what was missing. It was salsa. Delicious. My children love how easy it is to grab and go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
The Sausage rolls tasted wonderfull. However putting them togeather was not as easy as I had thought it would be. My firt few attempts at putting togeather the rolls failed miserably. However they became considerably more aesthetically pleasing as I kept going. I doubled the recipe, and following the advice of other reviewers and added garlic, onion and mushrooms to the sausage meat along with italian seasoning and some brown sugar. Tasted great, but I think they would have been a little bland without the extra add ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pahner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This is excellent. My son-in-law is from England and as he was coming through the door he was saying how wonderful it smelled in the house. I made only a few changes. I really dislike mustard so I brushed the dough with A-1 Sauce. I added 1/2 tsp. sage and 1/8 tsp. nutmeg to the ground pork. I browned the pork...am I ever glad...there was quite a bit of fat. As suggested by someone else, I cooked it on a Pampered Chief stone for 10 minute. I then checked it every 3 minutes. As suggested, the perfect cooking time on this stone is 13 - 15 minutes. Thank you so much for submitting this. P.S. My son-in-law loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I have a simple recipe. To 5 lbs sausage meat add 1 box stove top stuffing and add dried onion flakes. Put in the puff pastry and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Like some of the other reviewers, I too am Scottish. I have been making my own Sausage Rolls for years, and I noticed that the original recipe had excluded onions. I always add finely chopped onions to the sausagemeat along with breadcrums,parsley, and salt and pepper to taste. I roll out some pre-made puff pastry and pipe the mixture through a wide piping nozzle onto the sheet. After folding over the sheet to form a tube, I then cut it to the appropriate size. (At this point I usually cut one or two small slashs into the newly made rolls. This allows some of the fat/grease to escape from the roll.) If its for a lunch-time snack about 3-4 inchs is enough, or if its for a buffet style occasion then smaller ( about 1" to 1 1/2" is usually long enough). Should any reader be visiting Scotland, I would recommend sausage rolls from Greggs to them. They are simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I have been making sausage rolls for years and years and years (I'm 58) The additions to basic sausage rolls must be a 'location' thing. I was born in Chiswick near london, and we never put mustard, sage, nutmeg etc anywhere near our sausage. Yes I do make them out here (texas) and I do use pepperidge farm flaky pastry sheets..... But my mum would hate the fact that I do - she always made hers with shortcrust pastry and sausage meat - no thyme, sage, nutmeg or mustard etc. Must admit that since coming to america and living in texas for the past 12 years - I am guilty of using 'Hot' spiced sausage meat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States