Mark's English Sausage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
The Sausage rolls tasted wonderfull. However putting them togeather was not as easy as I had thought it would be. My firt few attempts at putting togeather the rolls failed miserably. However they became considerably more aesthetically pleasing as I kept going. I doubled the recipe, and following the advice of other reviewers and added garlic, onion and mushrooms to the sausage meat along with italian seasoning and some brown sugar. Tasted great, but I think they would have been a little bland without the extra add ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pahner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This is excellent. My son-in-law is from England and as he was coming through the door he was saying how wonderful it smelled in the house. I made only a few changes. I really dislike mustard so I brushed the dough with A-1 Sauce. I added 1/2 tsp. sage and 1/8 tsp. nutmeg to the ground pork. I browned the pork...am I ever glad...there was quite a bit of fat. As suggested by someone else, I cooked it on a Pampered Chief stone for 10 minute. I then checked it every 3 minutes. As suggested, the perfect cooking time on this stone is 13 - 15 minutes. Thank you so much for submitting this. P.S. My son-in-law loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I have a simple recipe. To 5 lbs sausage meat add 1 box stove top stuffing and add dried onion flakes. Put in the puff pastry and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Like some of the other reviewers, I too am Scottish. I have been making my own Sausage Rolls for years, and I noticed that the original recipe had excluded onions. I always add finely chopped onions to the sausagemeat along with breadcrums,parsley, and salt and pepper to taste. I roll out some pre-made puff pastry and pipe the mixture through a wide piping nozzle onto the sheet. After folding over the sheet to form a tube, I then cut it to the appropriate size. (At this point I usually cut one or two small slashs into the newly made rolls. This allows some of the fat/grease to escape from the roll.) If its for a lunch-time snack about 3-4 inchs is enough, or if its for a buffet style occasion then smaller ( about 1" to 1 1/2" is usually long enough). Should any reader be visiting Scotland, I would recommend sausage rolls from Greggs to them. They are simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I have been making sausage rolls for years and years and years (I'm 58) The additions to basic sausage rolls must be a 'location' thing. I was born in Chiswick near london, and we never put mustard, sage, nutmeg etc anywhere near our sausage. Yes I do make them out here (texas) and I do use pepperidge farm flaky pastry sheets..... But my mum would hate the fact that I do - she always made hers with shortcrust pastry and sausage meat - no thyme, sage, nutmeg or mustard etc. Must admit that since coming to america and living in texas for the past 12 years - I am guilty of using 'Hot' spiced sausage meat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I have been making these for years, add 1/2 tsp dried sage & a pinch of nutmeg to the sausage meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I come from a British family and we were all thrown off by the mustard. My mom and aunt had never seen the mustard rolled directly into the roll (and they've eaten plenty of sausage rolls in their time) and much preferred the mustard as a condiment to dip in. We always just roll the sausage up in the puff pastry and bake... you just can't go wrong with simple. They're so good you can't eat just one... or two. Thanks for the idea of the mustard, I'll be making them both ways from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
These are very tasty, freeze ok for later, and a quick little breakfast in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cubozoa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I am English and recently introduced my boyfriend to sausage rolls and he loves them! I liked the idea of using mustard and another thing that I like to do is mix the sausagemeat with tomato and bacon. My mum always makes a big roll at Christmas and it is always gone within ten minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbury, Berkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I prefer to use minced onion, salt, pepper and a dash of A1 Sauce. Also try rolling the sausage mixture between two sheets of wax or saran wrap into a reptangle then remove the top sheet and roll the sausage like a jelly roll. You can also divide the roll into five sections with two slashes on top for a cocktail party snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States