Mark's Cabbage and Hamburger Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Really enjoyed this! Very easy and delicious. I did sub beef stock for chicken stock, just because it seemed to make more sense. The smoked paprika is key here - I wouldn't make this with regular paprika. I think the folks that ended up with gummy noodles missed the part where it says to add water to make sure the noodles don't get dry. I added about 2/3 of a cup, which may have been a bit too much but it all worked out. Without knowing anything else, my husband tasted it and said, "Yum! It's healthy Hamburger Helper!" I'll definately make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EuroGirl6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeway, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
In an effort to make this a one pot dish, I skipped step one and started with Step 2, adding garlic (garlic goes into everything!) with the onion and added homemade stock, the cream and cabbage last and let it simmer until the cabbage was tender. Using good hungarian paprika is key. I used 1 tbsp hot paprika and 1 tbsp regular. No noodles needed-they are just empty calories and lots of carbs. Topped with some cheese, this dish was excellent! The hubs said to "add it to the list".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This actually turned out pretty good! I used evoo instead of butter and decided to par cook my noodles separately. Once the beef was browned I removed it and wilted my cabbage. In addition to the seasonings suggested I also added garlic and onion powders. The noodles and liquids were then added and I let it simmer until most of the liquid was absorbed. A great way to use up all the cabbage we've been growing! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Although not a big fan of smoke flavor, I liked this dish - quite unique. I also used beef broth, added some garlic and used more cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Pretty good, but rather bland. I made the recipe exactly as written, and it needed something more. I have a large amount left over, so perhaps I'll add cheese when I reheat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This dish was very good. However, I would cut back on the "Smoked Paprika" and only use 1 TB instead of 2. Smoked Paprika is far more pungent than the sweet variety. I would also increase the powered mustard by adding 1/2 teaspoon more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Winnemucca, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This was an easy dish to prepare, and had good taste. I had to add more liquid, as it cooked it up quite a bit. Good aroma and good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I used ground Turkey instead of ground Beef. Steamed Brussels Sprouts instead of cabbage. Low sodium beef broth instead of chicken bouillon. Added low sodium Worcester Sauce and garlic. Replaced heavy cream with sour cream. Cut the paprika in half.sautéed the onions first with the ground Turkey, added the salt and pepper, garlic and half of the smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I made this using mild curry powder (1 tbsp) instead of the smoked paprika. Tasted pretty darn good too. However, the dish was not visually appealing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TFR1959
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This was a good dish if you enjoy cabbage. I pre-cooked the noodles before adding to the rest of the dish, and then added some of the pasta water to thin it out even more. My husband isn't a huge fan of cabbage, and thought it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States