Mark's Cabbage and Hamburger Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This was an easy dish to prepare, and had good taste. I had to add more liquid, as it cooked it up quite a bit. Good aroma and good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I was excited when I read this recipe because of the smoked paprika. I was disappointed. I added some sour cream which improved the over all flavor. But, this was just an average slumgullion to me. It was also very under-seasoned to me in general. I think the meat needed salt in the cooking. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoisCasson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Pretty good, but rather bland. I made the recipe exactly as written, and it needed something more. I have a large amount left over, so perhaps I'll add cheese when I reheat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This dish was very good. However, I would cut back on the "Smoked Paprika" and only use 1 TB instead of 2. Smoked Paprika is far more pungent than the sweet variety. I would also increase the powered mustard by adding 1/2 teaspoon more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Winnemucca, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I was really disappointed when I had my end product with this one. My husband is Polish and I really thought this was going to be like a paprikash,but not at all. I thought the noodles were way undercooked and gummy because they cooked in very little liquid. Also, there was way too much paprika. Needless to say, I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
never again, thick pasty, couldn't thin it down to get it good, like the cabbage though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Really enjoyed this! Very easy and delicious. I did sub beef stock for chicken stock, just because it seemed to make more sense. The smoked paprika is key here - I wouldn't make this with regular paprika. I think the folks that ended up with gummy noodles missed the part where it says to add water to make sure the noodles don't get dry. I added about 2/3 of a cup, which may have been a bit too much but it all worked out. Without knowing anything else, my husband tasted it and said, "Yum! It's healthy Hamburger Helper!" I'll definately make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EuroGirl6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeway, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This actually turned out pretty good! I used evoo instead of butter and decided to par cook my noodles separately. Once the beef was browned I removed it and wilted my cabbage. In addition to the seasonings suggested I also added garlic and onion powders. The noodles and liquids were then added and I let it simmer until most of the liquid was absorbed. A great way to use up all the cabbage we've been growing! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I agree with the reviewer that said it's similar to Hamburger Helper ... :/ ... I don't want hamburger helper ... 'Changed things, as I do, but not enough to make my review invalid. I didn't use the hamburger. 'Wanted to try it as a side, & then as a main dish if we liked it. 'Don't understand why you'd reduce the chicken broth then add more water - so I didn't. Just continued the recipe without reducing it. I only added a cup of noodles & yeah, it needed to be thickened; but that was okay. It looked cheesy with the paprika so the kids tried it - but "no go" on more than a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I made this using mild curry powder (1 tbsp) instead of the smoked paprika. Tasted pretty darn good too. However, the dish was not visually appealing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States