Mariu's Spaghetti with Meat Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This sauce was terrific. I read most of the other reviews and I agree that it had more of a beefy flavor and that is what sets it apart from other spaghetti sauces. I used 2 cans of 14.5 oz beef broth because I couldn't find 10.5 oz cans and I also added a 15oz can of tomato sauce plus 1 teaspoon of garlic powder and 1/2 teaspoon of italian seasoning. I will be making this sauce in bigger batches in the future to freeze. I won't ever buy bottled sauce again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I left out the mushrooms and fresh parsley (personal preference) and the recipe was still fantastic. Easy and smells great while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Easy to make, very flavorful. My eight year old not a huge spaghetti fan had 2 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I loved this sauce.I added a 28 oz. can of tomato sauce and deleted 1 can of the beef broth.I knew my kids would be more receptive this way.It took a little long to prepare with all the mincing but I thought it was well worth it.Next time I will add more mushrooms and reduce the salt to 1/2 tsp.It tasted like an authentic italian sauce you'd get at a nice restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This was very good, the whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This was wonderful - rich, thick, with distinct flavor. The freshly grated Romano and chopped parsley on top just added another dimension to the wonderful flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was really good and a mild flavored sauce. Definitely not too tomatoey as some can be. My husband really liked it and asked that i make this one again. I used some dried celery and only a couple of T worth, canned portabella mushrooms, a can of tomato puree 10oz., and added a can of chicken broth as it was too thick after only 1 hour of simmering and it was all I had. I tossed in some corkscrew and rotini pasta and cooked it in the sauce adding broth as needed since I had everything pasta-wise BUT spaghetti on hand. It made sort of a pasta goulash that way and turned out really well. My diet conscious hubby even went back for seconds! Thanks for a great supper. UPDATE: 12.01.10 I made this again using fresh celery, fresh mint, and the tomato paste this time. I still used the canned portabella pieces. This knocked hubby's socks off once again! I used a large box/container of beef broth and then added a can of chicken after the first hour as it was too thick. AWESOME recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Didn't add the mint and didn't miss it. This is THE bolognese sauce from now on - I'm not looking anymore! The depth of flavor is sooo good here. Made it with Lidia Bastianich's homemade gnocchi and the combination was to die for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I was looking for a spaghetti sauce recipe but nothing appealed to me. Then I saw this one and thought I would give it a try. So glad I did. It was fabulous. It's the only sauce I'll ever make! The only ingredient I skipped was the dried mint as I couldn't find any but I'm looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Very tasty this recipe was a hit with the kids. This one is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States