Mariu's Spaghetti with Meat Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
We vacationed in Italy this summer, and had meat sauce that was wonderful and very different from the typical American version; much more meaty with tomato used more as a seasoning. This recipe fulfilled my hopes of being much more like a true Italian meat sauce. It was outstanding and my family loved it! Even my 2 pickiest kiddos who have flatly refused to eat spaghetti in the past gobbled it up. I doubled the recipe, seasoned the meat with some Emeril's essence, added more garlic than called for. Also added a can of tomato sauce in place of one of the cans of beef broth(3 cans beef broth, 1 can tomato sauce). This is our new spaghetti recipe; we absolutely love it! If you like a meaty sauce, you should definitely try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This sauce was terrific. I read most of the other reviews and I agree that it had more of a beefy flavor and that is what sets it apart from other spaghetti sauces. I used 2 cans of 14.5 oz beef broth because I couldn't find 10.5 oz cans and I also added a 15oz can of tomato sauce plus 1 teaspoon of garlic powder and 1/2 teaspoon of italian seasoning. I will be making this sauce in bigger batches in the future to freeze. I won't ever buy bottled sauce again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
AWESOME!!! My family wanted spaghetti tonight, but I dreaded the regular old tomato/marinara sauce. I am pregnant and could just hear the heartburn calling my name. I saw this recipe and made it according to instructions (no mushrooms though) and I am in love!!! It was great. The flavor was just right. Not too acidic. The kids liked it. Hubby liked it. I made a large batch and we are freezing the rest!!! THANK YOU, THANK YOU for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Loved having a beef style with no acidic tomato taste. simmering with the lid off for 2 hrs makes the sauce a perfect consistency. Family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was really good and a mild flavored sauce. Definitely not too tomatoey as some can be. My husband really liked it and asked that i make this one again. I used some dried celery and only a couple of T worth, canned portabella mushrooms, a can of tomato puree 10oz., and added a can of chicken broth as it was too thick after only 1 hour of simmering and it was all I had. I tossed in some corkscrew and rotini pasta and cooked it in the sauce adding broth as needed since I had everything pasta-wise BUT spaghetti on hand. It made sort of a pasta goulash that way and turned out really well. My diet conscious hubby even went back for seconds! Thanks for a great supper. UPDATE: 12.01.10 I made this again using fresh celery, fresh mint, and the tomato paste this time. I still used the canned portabella pieces. This knocked hubby's socks off once again! I used a large box/container of beef broth and then added a can of chicken after the first hour as it was too thick. AWESOME recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
Not a big fan of this sauce. It tastes too beefy (due to the amount of beef broth added)...no real hearty tomato flavor to it at all. I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Royalton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Edwards, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I thought this was pretty good. It's very "beefy" tasting and has a sort of rustic quality to it. It doesn't sport a bold tomato flavor. I almost feel like it would greatly benefit from adding some more herbs and crushed garlic about 15 minutes before it's completly finshed cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
This recipe is definitely a main stay. I added a half a pound of Italian sausage along with the ground beef, omitted the dried mint, because I couldn't find any. Kid tested positive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Good flavor but for me this was a bit runny. Tried reducing it down, but it didn't work. May try again but with less beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
My husband says this is this best he's ever put in his mouth and its better than his mom's! That's amazing cuz can't no one beat his mom! (To hear him tell it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States