Maritime Blueberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Fresh blueberry heaven with homemade vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy Lamb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
It's a hit with everyone I know! There's always a fight to get the first bite!! I've also made this with fresh raspberries and it is tasty as well! Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Ski Mizelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy Y
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as listed. It did take about 45 minutes in the oven, though. Loved it! Not overly sweet. NJ has wonderful blueberries, too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
So, I made this recipe exactly as written. I've never made anything like this before, so when my batter turned out sticky and thick, I figured I did something wrong... but I could figure out what. After 40min of baking it still was pretty soggy (after the blueberries burst). I didn't think it was going to make it, but I let it bake longer and kept a close eye on it. I read the one review stating a similar problem, but it's only 5C today... So I don't think humidity is a problem. After looking "soggy" crumble up on the net, I found out that I shouldn't have softened the butter, but cut it up really small and mixed it that way cold... Well, since I didn't want it to go to waste, i kicked up the temperature to 375F after 55min at 350F. I only baked it for 5 more minutes as the bottom was starting to look too brown. Hopefully it will taste good with ice cream and you won't be able to tell it's soggy. Just an update: my boyfriend ended up eating the entire dish in 2 days... So even though it turned out soggy and I cooked it too long, he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jewels
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Loved It! I was worried about there not being much batter but when it baked up, that thought went out the window. Will make more when blueberries are in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
very very good! my whole family loved it! the only thing I changed was that instead of using regular shortening I used coconut oil. I loved smelling this cook in the oven it made the whole house smell good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turlock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Converted this to sugar free and gluten free with healthier fat than shortening - substituted 1.5 scoops of vegan protein powder + 1 tbsp agave syrup for the sugar; 1/3 cup each of coconut flour and spelt flour instead of all purpose flour; coconut oil instead of shortening/ butter and for the topping I used grated coconut and muesli instead of flour. I needed to add about 1/4 cup of water because the protein powder made the batter too dry. Turned out great. If you're concerned about gluten and sugar this should work without compromising taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Very nice, simple and moist. I did a 1.5 of the recipe (using two eggs) and it was just the right size for a 9x13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Excellent! My husband is not a dessert person, but loved this. Will definitely make again with another batch of wild blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
So delicious! This recipe is absolutely perfect. I'll be making this anytime I have extra blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States