Mari's Clam Lovers Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Just tried it yesterday. I think for me next time less butter less cream. I had to add other condiments to take away from the butter after taste and had to add more water to soften the cream taste. Over all good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I SUBBED CLAM JUICE FOR THE WATER AND HALVED THE RECIPE. GOT LOTS OF COMPLIMENTS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Solon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Made this tonight with just a couple of minor changes. Used a can of chicken broth instead of clam juice and a pound and a half of mixed seafood from my meat department. YUM YUM YUM! Going to use this MANY more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
really good. didn't have bacon or red wine vinegar, I used balsalmic vinegar instead. so dang good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacia Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was by far the BEST clam chowder recipe I have ever had. Our whole family loved it. We will make this over and over again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
It was amazing! My son said it was his new favorite (better than his previous favorite clam chowder served at a local restaurant). I served it with an easy beer bread recipe and dinner was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This is delicious, made as directed except for leaving out the carrots because I don't like them in clam chowder, and using gluten-free flour. It makes a LOT. I wasn't sure it would freeze well, but it froze nicely for a couple of weeks. Only thing I will do differently next time is to thicken only slightly (maybe 1/4 of the flour as called for, to help incorporate the butter, as I found it a bit TOO thick. This could have something to do with the gluten-free flour that I used, but I do tend to like soups better when they are not very thick anyway. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Used 2 cups whole milk, 2 cups half and half instead of 4 cups heavy cream to cut down on richness. Used 2 cups water & 2 cups chicken broth instead of 4 cups water. Could have used more of a clam flavor. I think I have found my go to potato soup recipe.... just happens to have clams in it. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
very good made it quick when I got home from work,,I 1/2ved the recipe,,had leftover clams from steamer night,,used white pepper,,,put a dash of worceshire,,will add alittle more next time,,added 2 more cans of whole baby clams w/juice and 5 bottles of clam juice,,cuz I thought with the boil it would reduce some,,eyeballed the pot,,becuz I don,t like alot in clam chowder,,after all clam chowder not pot,,soup,..I think the only thing different I would do,,gets thick,,and I like it thick,,but add alittle chix broth at end, to thin just a tad,,and flavor..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
After reading a few other reviews which mentioned a lack of clam flavor, the only change I made was subbing half of the water with clam juice. Because I halved the recipe, it called for 4 cups of water; I used 2 cups plus 2 8 oz bottles of clam juice. The results were amazing-- everyone here, including two people who have lived in New England and can appreciate great chowder, proclaimed it among the best they'd ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States