Mari's Clam Lovers Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I substituted 16 oz of the water with clam juice. Left everything else the same. Turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melissa
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Delicious! I halved the recipe as it is big enough for an army! I added salmon with the potatoes and it was incredible. I highly recommend this for cooks who like to go from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Just tried it yesterday. I think for me next time less butter less cream. I had to add other condiments to take away from the butter after taste and had to add more water to soften the cream taste. Over all good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I SUBBED CLAM JUICE FOR THE WATER AND HALVED THE RECIPE. GOT LOTS OF COMPLIMENTS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Made this tonight with just a couple of minor changes. Used a can of chicken broth instead of clam juice and a pound and a half of mixed seafood from my meat department. YUM YUM YUM! Going to use this MANY more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
really good. didn't have bacon or red wine vinegar, I used balsalmic vinegar instead. so dang good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacia Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was by far the BEST clam chowder recipe I have ever had. Our whole family loved it. We will make this over and over again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
It was amazing! My son said it was his new favorite (better than his previous favorite clam chowder served at a local restaurant). I served it with an easy beer bread recipe and dinner was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This is delicious, made as directed except for leaving out the carrots because I don't like them in clam chowder, and using gluten-free flour. It makes a LOT. I wasn't sure it would freeze well, but it froze nicely for a couple of weeks. Only thing I will do differently next time is to thicken only slightly (maybe 1/4 of the flour as called for, to help incorporate the butter, as I found it a bit TOO thick. This could have something to do with the gluten-free flour that I used, but I do tend to like soups better when they are not very thick anyway. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Used 2 cups whole milk, 2 cups half and half instead of 4 cups heavy cream to cut down on richness. Used 2 cups water & 2 cups chicken broth instead of 4 cups water. Could have used more of a clam flavor. I think I have found my go to potato soup recipe.... just happens to have clams in it. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States