Mari's Chicken and Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2002
This was just okay. I thought that the chicken pieces turned out WAY too tough - perhaps cooking them in the skillet and adding them to the sauce at the last minute with the tomatoes and green onions would solve that problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This recipe was excellent - after a few modifications. I do believe the chicken turned out to be tough and a little flavourless. After that I decided to use prawns instead. It was great, they absorbed the sauce's flavour! I just used cooked frozen prawns. I also added extra tomotos, green onions, italian seasoning for extra flavour and thickened the sauce near the end My changes: -Rinse frozen cooked prawns in cold water to thaw slightly -Saute with garlic for about 1 - 2 minutes -Add sauce ingredients as instructed - Add 1 tsp. or more italian seasoning (however much you like) -Near the end of the cook time add small amounts of flour to thicken the sauce to desired consistency (otherwise I found it to be a little too watery) -complete directions as instructed I made this for guests and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This was a very easy and delicious recipe. I used all chicken broth, sauted onion, mushrooms and garlic first (before browning the chicken), and added a small can of chopped tomatoes w/ green chili (instead of the fresh tomato - mostly because I didn't have one). I also omitted the cheese. It was great without it. Everyone enjoyed the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
This was turned out to be pretty good. I used mushrooms instead of peas,substituted onion powder for the onion, used a can of diced tomato seasoned w/ basil and oregano and used some leftover marinated chicken from the night before. I sauted the mushrooms, garlic and tomatoe and added the chicken in w/ wine and broth. I also thickened the sauce a bit w/ cornstarch and water and added more italian seasoning. Very tasty, good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
This is delicious! I've made it twice now, and the second time I made a few changes. I added a small can of sliced black olives, and instead of the peas I used green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela W
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I had to give this only 4 stars because I changed the recipe a lot, based on reviewers suggestions. Too many reviewers commented on the chicken being overdone, so my solution was to grill the chicken (I undercooked it slightly) then I chopped it up and added it into the mix at the end with the tomatoes and peas. I also slightly undercooked my pasta (whole wheat) and added that into the sauce before I added in the tomatoes, onions and chicken. This helped the pasta to really take on the flavors of the sauce, and helped to thicken the sauce. Everyone had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Wow. Amazing! I made this without the chicken, because I am a "pocketbook vegetarian" these days and meat is a rare treat. Excellent as written--no thickening needed. Did you let it cook down for 15 minutes as recommended? This concentrates the favors--thickening it would have made it too dry as well as blander. The second time I made this, I didn't have any white wine, so I substituted sweet white vermouth. It's cheap, but difficult to find in the States and not very popular, so I don't know how many of you have any, but if you do, try it! The spices in the vermouth subtly enhanced the flavor of this dish to whole new levels. Wowza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This was great! A nice change from heavy, cream sauces. Used 1lb. of linguine and added about a 1/2c of mozzarella to the mix. Sauce was just right and everything stuck to the noodles no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
Love this! It's quick and easy...I'll probably try broccoli instead of the peas, next time, as I'm not a huge fan of peas, but it was really nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REENTHEQUEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
This dish tasted wonderful and was very easy to make! I didn't have any peas, so I substituted frozen broccoli florets which worked nicely with the other ingredients. Next time, I'll steam fresh broccoli and add it toward the end, to retain its crispness. This would also taste great with asparagus or zucchini. I will definitely make this again!!!! It will be great for company and looks pretty tossed in a big, colorful pasta bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Chicken Pasta

See how to make a super-simple, creamy baked chicken and pasta dish.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States