Marinated Venison Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This was interesting. I really didn't care for the breading at all. The marinade was pretty good though it was almost like a teriyaki flavor minus the ginger and sesame oil. I might try adding that next time and then cook without the breading to make teriyaki deer sticks. It WAS very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This is excellent. I would not recommend adding a half bottle of Worcestershire sauce as the recipe calls for. I added about 8 shakes and that was plenty. It is best to cook the meat until it bleeds through and then flip it until it bleeds on the other side. Venison is best when it is medium rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
WONDERFUL!!! This is the 1st time I have ever cooked deer and it turned out Perfect!!! I tenderized the loin steaks w/ my meat mallet...then added a bit of olive oil before I poured the beer over them. Then I eyeballed the amt of W.sauce. I also pressed a clove of garlic into the marinade. I let it sit for an hr then dredged it in the flour mixture. I didn't have any white flour so I used whole wheat. I fried them in coconut oil and served. The whole family loved them!! TY for a great recipe!!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Schinagel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I left it over night and cooked it when I got home the next evening. It was so bitter and salty. I will try it again with only marinating it for an hour. 'the or more' on this recipe should really have an end time for not so skilled cooks like me :) I so wanted this to be as fabulous as everyone was saying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Great recipe!! My son who has Autism loved it, and he is a really hard kid to please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I have 2 deer hunters in my family!!!! This was really easy to make!!!! Everyone really like this!!! We are going to make this more often now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl Young
Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
we eat alot of venison I am proud to say and am always looking for different recipes...this one is a huge hit. My 12 yr old son made it for a school project after the first time I made it for the family and well he did not have enough to go around. Any hunter should try this recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Super easy, don't really eat deer but had no trouble eating this. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I'm sure this is great for someone who doesn't like the taste of venison, but in Central PA we are born and bred on on it. I should have followed my natural instincts and pan fried the tender backstrap that I used for this recipe the way I normally do. Bottom line: If you don't like the taste of wild game, don't eat it, but please don't offer recipes that completely ruin it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This is a keeper. Really takes away the gamey taste, and tenderizes nicely. I added some dry oregano and sage to the marinade. We then made Po Boy style sammy's with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a slightly sweet marinade for moist and tender grilled pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States