Marinated Vegetable Medley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I made two small changes--I used balsamic vinegar instead of white vinegar and I used fresh minced garlic instead of garlic powder. Though my family didn't care for it, I absolutely loved it. I'll make this again just for me. I'd make it in the summertime next time--I think this would be better suited during the warm months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
This is a great side dish in the summer, especially with BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I hate to have to rate a recipe and then explain all the changes, but I rarely follow directions exactly as written. So here's my take on this basic framework. Doubled the vinegar and halved the oil. Added some fresh basil, lemon zest, zucchini (yellow and green) and red bell pepper. Excellent refreshing side dish for a summer meal. My daughter and wife both went for more. I served it with the catfish cakes I also found at allrecipes.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Delicious and a huge success at the passover meal. I made a little change for guests who don't like vinegar: I used a little balsamic vinegar and some lemon juice, probably less than 2/3 cup. Also I slightly steamed the vegetables, (cauliflower, broccoli and carrot) to make it easier on the digestion. Since then everybody has tried to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This is excellent. I recommend blanching the broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots for about 90 seconds before adding to the salad. They are a little easier on your tummy that way but still nice and crunchy. I changed up the veggies a bit to use up a few things I had on hand - skipped the mushrooms, added green and kalamata olives, red onion, sun dried tomatoes, celery, and pepperoncinis. I also added some pepper and crushed red pepper to the dressing. I would definitely make this again - and maybe try adding feta cheese and chopped pepperoni. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I made this a couple of days ago and I used more than the recommended amounts of vegetables but it seemed a little too oily. I will use the recipe again but cut down on the amt of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mullica Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I love this recipe. It is so delicious. Have been making it for four years now and I am shocked that there are not tons of reviews by now. This is a great side dish that can (and needs to) be made ahead. Definately do use a slotted spoon to serve, as the recipe submitter suggests. You may even cut down a bit on the oil, and add extra veggies as I do. But I totally love this and it is such a great way to eat fresh veggies. Great in the warmer months. Such a unique addition to my recipe box. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Made exactly as written and this is one I will make often in the summer. The only change I plan on making the next time is to use fresh herbs in place of the dried. This recipe screams summer picnics!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This was pretty good, an easy side for using up extra raw veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanaL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I resolved today to eat vegetables and bought cauliflower and broccoli. Found this recipe and it was excellent! My adjustments: 1/2 the oil, sub white balsamic vinegar,1/2 tsp oregano,3/4 tsp sugar, used fresh minced garlic and added 2 mint leave. I didn't have the artichokes or carrots, but added a sliced zucchini, and a red pepper. Everything else remained the same, except,I blanched the cauliflower and broccoli. It was nearly half gone for an afternoon snack and I couldn't even wait to let it marinade once I tasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States