Marinated Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
this isn't the recepie I submitted...it should be 1 bottle of VH rib sauce which isn't the same as barbq sause the rib sauce is absorbed better....but when done with rib sauce it's amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chazzychaz
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Super EASY and crazy TASTY! Adding a little bit of dry BBQ rub to the tofu before hand gives a little spicy action to the dish. I also broiled the tofu instead of baking it for an even greater texture. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I think this recipe really depends on your barbeque sauce...the tofu didn't absorb the taste well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I couldn't find the VH Rib sauce as suggested so used Famous Dave's BBQ sauce. Turned out ok. I froze the tofu and thawed it first to give it a better texture. Then I cooked it as the recipe stated. I have to say, it was better the next day after it sat in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
so good, so easy, marinate as long as possible, add bread crumbs when sauteeing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Its a little time consuming but in the end its great!..... For tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Didn't bake the marinate the tofu nor did I bake it after I fried it as I needed something fast...will make this again to see if it comes out tastier...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Was very disappointed in both the flavor and the texture. I love tofu in stir fry and cooked up with fruit, but this was just unimpressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Wouldn't do this again. The texture of the tofu didn't send us anywhere. A drawn out process for relatively low yield. We have other and better ways to prepare tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
For a second time experimenting with tofu and as a newly transitioned vegetarian, I would have to say that I'm impressed with this recipe. I found it quite tasty, but as another reviewer wrote, I will probably use a bit of meat rub next time and allow it to marinate a little longer than 3 hours. I would also try dicing the tofu instead of slicing it as it was kind of messy upon cooking. Altogether, this was a fabulously tasty dish and I can't wait to prepare it again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Godsblessed1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States