Marinated Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I make these all the time but the cook time and meaurements are different. I use about 3/4 of a pound bag of pretzels, 1 package of ranch, 1 tablesspoon garlic powder and 1 tablespoon of dried dill and definitely not olive oil! Use vegetable oil and use just slightly over 1/2 a cup. Cook at 250 and stir to coat every 15 minutes for 1 hour. I promise they will be perfection. I have made them for years and they have been a hit, each and every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
My family makes pretzels similar to these...however they don't need to be baked. Prepare and let the pretzels "marinate" in the oil mixture for 8 to 10 hours (shaking or stirring every so often to get the oil distributed) and the mixture will soak into the pretzels. Also, replace the oil with popcorn oil for added flavor (as mentioned by another reviewer as having done). These are addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
These were so easy and went over very well at a Supebowl party. I did use vegetable oil as per some reviewers advice. While I love olive oil it does have a very distinctive flavor that I just didn't see lending itself well to such a "snacky" food. I used 1 tbls of both the garlic powder and dill as well, again per reviewers advice. I will certainly make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Excellent recipe that is sooooo simple! I took the advice of others and used vegetable oil vs. olive oil and cut that to a little over 1/2 cup. I also used 1 tbsp. each of garlic powder and dill vs. three. I put everything into a tupperware container to toss and marinate. I think you just have to judge with your oven - start with a low temp. and toss every 10 minutes until done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Well folks, I did some testing. My sister wants to serve these on the appetizer table at her wedding, so I did a trial run. First time I did three batches, using three different oils, and then baked half of each batch and let the other half unbaked. For each batch I used 16 oz pretzels, 1/2 cup oil, 1 package Ranch (I had the bulk stuff, so I used 3 T which is almost 1 oz), 1 T garlic, 1 T dill weed. I tried them with EVOO, veggie oil, and melted butter. Results? As far as the oils, I personally liked the EVOO best, but it isn't significantly better, so we are going with veggie oil for the wedding. Melted butter didn't work well. It clumped up and definitely needed baking. As far as baked vs unbaked, there was really no significant difference, other than I thought the baked ones tasted slightly burned. I baked at 250 for 28 minutes. Even with only 1 T garlic, the garlic was overwhelming. I just mixed up a second batch using 16 oz pretzels, 1/2 cup veggie oil, 4 T ranch mix (if you are using the packages, I'd just go with one package) and 3 T dill. Skipped garlic altogether. Didn't bake. Much better. These keep well, prob. for 2 weeks. Tip: get good quality dill. The first I got from a bulk food store, and it tasted like dried grass. Then I got some from Frontier Herbs, from a bulk bin at a health food store. It was much darker green, and is delicious. I'm only giving this recipe 3 stars because of the huge garlic amount, and because it doesn't need baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I liked the idea of this recipe, but I don't usually have dry ranch dressing mix on hand. I made up the core ingredients of seasoning that's in ranch dressing, used vegetable oil instead of olive (because olive oil tends to be a bit heavy when making snacks like this) and added about a 1/4 c. of grated Parmesan/Romano cheese. Tasty. Good change from your usual pretzel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
very good! but I don't bake them just let sit for a day or two shaking occasionally
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leftoverQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
I use butter flavored popcorn oil when marinating pretzels instead of olive oil. I love the light buttery flavor along with the other spices. I've never made marinated pretzels with the big sourdough pretzels until today and I liked it better. They're not as pretty, but they soak up the flavors much better. Yum! They're addictive. If you're serving them to more than 4 people, you might want to make a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
AWESOME! so good and so easy! i used a bag of mini twist pretzels, a little less oil, 1 1/2 T garlic powder, 1 T dill weed & baked at 250 degrees for 30 min (stir every 10) = turned out great! will definately be making these again! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Made these many times. People ask me to make them all the time now too. I use only a half cup of oil and often use veggie (or regular olive oil, not extra virgin). Also I use 1 TB garlic powder, 1 TB dill and 1 TB lemon pepper instead of the 3/3. I usually about 1/4 tsp of cayenne for heat. And I cook at 250 for an hour, stirring every 15 minutes. Yeah, yeah, I know I made of ton of changes. It's developed over the couple of years I've been making them. I still think my rating and review are valid, the recipe is quality just for the idea alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Pretzels

A zesty marinade takes store-bought pretzels to the next level of snack heaven.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States