Marinated Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
i love these....what a classic, easy, crowd-pleasing snack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I vary this recipe by adding 1-4 t of Cayenne Pepper and 1T of Onion Powder. I also have found that you need to add olive oil while baking to prevent a bunch of powder in the bottom of the pan. Everyone loves these. I've also found that, if they are going to be eaten within a few days, you can add butter while cooking and it makes them richer and smoother. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Well folks, I did some testing. My sister wants to serve these on the appetizer table at her wedding, so I did a trial run. First time I did three batches, using three different oils, and then baked half of each batch and let the other half unbaked. For each batch I used 16 oz pretzels, 1/2 cup oil, 1 package Ranch (I had the bulk stuff, so I used 3 T which is almost 1 oz), 1 T garlic, 1 T dill weed. I tried them with EVOO, veggie oil, and melted butter. Results? As far as the oils, I personally liked the EVOO best, but it isn't significantly better, so we are going with veggie oil for the wedding. Melted butter didn't work well. It clumped up and definitely needed baking. As far as baked vs unbaked, there was really no significant difference, other than I thought the baked ones tasted slightly burned. I baked at 250 for 28 minutes. Even with only 1 T garlic, the garlic was overwhelming. I just mixed up a second batch using 16 oz pretzels, 1/2 cup veggie oil, 4 T ranch mix (if you are using the packages, I'd just go with one package) and 3 T dill. Skipped garlic altogether. Didn't bake. Much better. These keep well, prob. for 2 weeks. Tip: get good quality dill. The first I got from a bulk food store, and it tasted like dried grass. Then I got some from Frontier Herbs, from a bulk bin at a health food store. It was much darker green, and is delicious. I'm only giving this recipe 3 stars because of the huge garlic amount, and because it doesn't need baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Make sure you don't use buttered pretzels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonenberger0512

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I have made this as is and altered it to suit us. We prefer the altered recipe. I cu the oil to 1/2 c, and cut spices to 1T each of dill, garlic powder, dry ranch dressing, and lemon pepper. I was asked for the recipe by several people. I marinated them in a plastic gallon bag for ease. I also baked my pretzels at 350 for only 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
i think that it was easy and fun if you have to feed kids that like all the stuff then you should give it a try they will love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I also decreased the dill and garlic powder to 1 T. each, and I decreased the olive oil. I couldn't taste the garlic powder, though. The dill definitely would have been too powerful with the full 3 T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
These pretzels are terrific. I cut the dill and garlic down to 1 T. Used EVOO and it definitely tastes better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
You can make this without the ranch mix if the mystery ingredients scare you! Just make this recipe without the ranch mix-- 3/4c extra virgin olive oil, 2 table spoons of dill, 3 tablespoons of garlic powder. The flavor of the olive oil is great! I don't know why people don't like it, just make sure it is extra virgin olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
very good! but I don't bake them just let sit for a day or two shaking occasionally
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leftoverQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pretzels

A zesty marinade takes store-bought pretzels to the next level of snack heaven.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States