Marinated Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This was a quick and easy recipe but I recommend quite a few changes. I used 4 TBSP of vinegar, 1 TBSP of fresh rosemary, and only marinated for 5 minutes. The vinegar was still a bit overpowering, but I used the mushrooms to make a pizza. With the pizza sauce, the marinated mushrooms had just the right flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I made it again and made changes so I guess it isnt the same at all. I used white wine instead of the vinegar and added basil and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2000
Don't marinate more than 30 minutes, because they'll get a bit too tart. Otherwise these were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
I marinated the mushrooms for 30 minutes and they were simply too tart for my family's taste. Also, four tablespoons of dried rosemary was too much. The mushrooms were covered in crunchy rosemary. Overall this recipe was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jsikes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alleene, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
This is exactly how you can get them in a restaurant as an appetizer. Usually $10! Very easy to prepare on your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abingdon, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
i used whole baby portabellas which worked just fine. these were good, but not great. maybe i had too high of an expectation. i will try again and cut down on the vinegar and add some pineapple juice and garlic to add more depth to the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
this is way yummy! adding a little water tones down the bite of the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
The vinegar was overwhelming and the amount of Rosemary made it like eating toothpicks. Very overpowering flavor when made as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Heres a twist on the same recipe. Instead of marinating the mushrooms, I grill the mushrooms plain and then reduce the balsamic and drizzle it over them. To get real fancy, I'll top with some blue cheese crumbles and serve with a few grilled shrimp as an appetizer. Kind of a play on Surf and Turf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Great recipe, but the pictures looks like choc. chip cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States