Marinated Pork Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Found this fantastic recipe a year ago, have made it several times since for both company and just the family. It is absolutely delicious and it consistently gets rave reviews. Here's what I do: double the marinade, except for the cinnamon. Mince 2 Tbsp. fresh onion in place of dried. I try to marinade all day, but I have found that even a few hours is sufficient. I bake the tenderloins in a 400 oven for about 40 min. And the biggest tip: take the leftover marinade, boil, and add cornstarch or a flour roux to thicken and make a delicious sauce/gravy. Other Tips - #1) don't leave out the sherry. It really makes the recipe. You can buy cream sherry at your local spirits store for around $7 a bottle and you can utlitize it in many recipes. #2) if you are looking for a good side dish to match this pork, try Baked Pineapple Casserole off of this site. It is excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
457 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Didn't change a thing and it was awesome! Marinated it for 12 hours. I don't have an outdoor grill, so I used my cast iron grill pan on the stove. The best part was the chargrilled outer part -- mmmmmmmm! Next time I'll probably sear it on the stovetop and finish it off in the oven. I'll probably also boil and reduce down some of the left over marinade to make a yummy sauce. This is now officially the only pork tenderloin recipe I'll ever need. My husband thought it was amazing, as did my very picky ten year old. Edited to Add -- Made this a week later (couldn't wait any longer, it was that good) and did just that -- I seared it on the grill pan, stuck in a meat thermometer, and finished it off in a 350 oven until it reached 160, about 25-30 minutes. I boiled the marinade to reduce it to a nice gravy. Mmmmmmm! It was moist throughout and so good. My husband had thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
364 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSweetShannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
My family thought this recipe was okay, but nothing outstanding. We will not likely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
I tried this recipe and loved it, we baked it and substituted balsamic vinegar for the sherry. It was fabulous!! Not one leftover! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
I'd give more stars if I could! Like other reviewers, the only change I'd make is to increase the number of servings you prepare, because people will ask for seconds. Also, double or triple the marinade, and reserve some to be made into gravy by boiling it down with a bit of cornstarch or flour roux. This gravy is always a hit and is well worth the few minutes it takes to prepare. By the way, take the time to make sure that you have all of the marinade/gravy ingredients. Several people who gave this recipe a poor review commented that they replaced the sherry and/or certain spices. These ingredients are the essence of the dish, and really are essential. I'm always happy to use shortcuts and make substitutions, but this recipe really should be followed precisely. It's worth an extra trip to the grocery store!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I am about to make this recipe for the third time. I roast it for 1 hr at 350. I am going to try boiling the marinade and basting the meat this time. This is a great recipe when you have company. I am bringing it to a Christmas party tonight. Wonderful flavors and juicy. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Loved the ease & amazingly tasty results of this recipe - lots of bang for little buck. Followed other comments & used 1/2 onion + 4 garlic cloves as substitute for powders. Marinated only 4 hours b/c that's all I had time for. Cooked at 350 for 1 hour, wrapped in foil. Broiled last minute or two (flipping once) to give outside a slightly browner 'crust.' Boiled remaining marinade for 5 minutes or so to reduce, then added 1 TBL of cornstarch and moved off heat while stirring. Great as gravy. Only mistake I made was making 1 loin vs. 2 so I could save one for later. Entire family devoured the 1st one so there is nothing left for weekday lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
Terrific recipe Lisa. I took the suggestion of another reviewer and used raspberry vinegar in place of the sherry and let this marinate for 2 days. We grilled the tenderloins half way through and then split the down the center (butter-flied them) and finished grilling them. My husband poured sake on them while they were grilling. This was the BEST pork tenderloin we've had so far. Every bite was eaten and I'm making it again this weekend for company. My husband..(who really dislikes cinnamon) gave this 2 thumbs up. Thanks for sharing this! Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
This was incredibly easy to prepare and very delicious. I didn't have sherry so i used apple juice instead. I only marinated for 3 hours and the meat was full of flavour. Also important to cover the meat with foil and let it rest for at least 10 minutes to seal in all that flavour. I will make this all the time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
I have used this same marinade for chicken and everyone loves it. I left out the cinnamon because some of my family doesn't like it. I used a pork roast instead of tenderloin. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a slightly sweet marinade for moist and tender grilled pork.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States