Marinated Pork Roast with Currant Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
I tried this recipe for a dinner party of eight people and everyone raved about it! You MUST make the currant sauce, it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakemoor, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
Made this for a dinner party of 16 for a client. She reported back that it was definitely a hit for her and her guests!! I marinated this the day before in ziplock bags and then roasted it in a covered roasted except for the last 30 minutes or so for it to brown. The loins were tender and juicy. The sauce tops off the whole dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I thought the marinade and currant sauce was top notch - served for my annual Friends Christmas Dinner Party - was a big hit. I cooked the roast covered as the garlic pieces began to get too brown - too soon. The flavor was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
This was a great recipe. I didn't change a thing, other than the cooking method. I marinated the roast overnight, and then used a rotisserie. A 5 pound roast took about 2 hours. I basted the roast during the entire process, and the meat was wonderfully flavorful and moist. The currant sauce was fantastic. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Excellent! I made this last night for my husband, parents and grandmother. They all loved it. My mother and grandmother wanted copies of the recipes so that they can make it for upcoming holiday parties. It was wonderful - very flavorful and the currant sauce makes it delicious. A tip from my experience: Let the currant sauce cool for a while. It thickens and turns into a beautiful glaze. TERRIFIC RECIPE. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
Excellent!! I used hot pepper jelly instead of the currant jelly. Added alittle more zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I halved this recipe and used with 5 small pork chops instead. I followed the directions exactly the same, except I baked the pork chops in some of the marinade mixture and only for 15-20 minutes (until cooked thoroughly). The chops were wonderful by themselves, BUT the currant sauce--YUM!--made them taste even better! It was THE PERFECT complement to the meat. The flavors melded together so well! Thank you Jackie! I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHANY S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
Great combination of flavors. The marinade was simple yet perfect and the currant sauce was excellent. Our guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
This was a great recipe to prepare in a clear plastic cooking bag. No need to baste, with juicy results! Shake a little flour inside the bag before baking, to prevent sticking. No fuss, and easy cleanup.The sauce adds the final crowning touch! Yum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Wow! My first ever pork roast was a huge success thanks to this recipe. I used fresh ginger and fresh thyme. Used an oven bag (no need to baste) to decrease the cooking time and took the pork out when the meat thermometer read 155 degrees (it continued to cook after I removed it from the oven). Everyone wanted extra currant sauce. I used half a jar of red and half a jar of black currant jelly, since I didn't know which one would taste better. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States