Marinated Pork Roast with Currant Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
This recipe turned out WONDERFUL! The only thing I did different was to bake the roast for 10 minutes at 450 degrees, then turn the oven down to 325 and bake it until it got up to temperature. This is a technique I learned in cooking school. Cooking a roast at a very high temperature for a short amount of time (10 minutes) sears the outside of the roast and helps to lock in moisture during the remainder of the cooking. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
This was a great recipe to prepare in a clear plastic cooking bag. No need to baste, with juicy results! Shake a little flour inside the bag before baking, to prevent sticking. No fuss, and easy cleanup.The sauce adds the final crowning touch! Yum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Excellent! I made this last night for my husband, parents and grandmother. They all loved it. My mother and grandmother wanted copies of the recipes so that they can make it for upcoming holiday parties. It was wonderful - very flavorful and the currant sauce makes it delicious. A tip from my experience: Let the currant sauce cool for a while. It thickens and turns into a beautiful glaze. TERRIFIC RECIPE. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I should give this recipe 5 stars for the marinade alone. Marinated over night, it made the most delicious pork loin I’ve ever eaten. I made it last night for “Halloween” dinner and paired it with seasonal veggies and cranberry stuffing. It was a perfect combination. The sauce was divine, but be prepared for the sweetness. I added about a tablespoon of Thai chili sauce for a spicy kick and couldn’t have been happier with the results. I also followed another reviewers advice and let the sauce cool a little to thicken. Because the sauce was so sweet I ended up making gravy on the side in case people didn’t like it…the gravy wasn’t touched once. Gravy…not touched. Now that’s a triumph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I love to try different recipes. The first time I made this pork was probably two years ago. It is so incredibly awesome. I generally marinate it overnight and throw it in the slow cooker in the morning. When I make the currant sauce I put in just a touch of corn starch to thicken slightly. This will again be part of my Christmas buffet table. And mark my words - it will get the most comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SALLYANNIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I halved this recipe and used with 5 small pork chops instead. I followed the directions exactly the same, except I baked the pork chops in some of the marinade mixture and only for 15-20 minutes (until cooked thoroughly). The chops were wonderful by themselves, BUT the currant sauce--YUM!--made them taste even better! It was THE PERFECT complement to the meat. The flavors melded together so well! Thank you Jackie! I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHANY S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
The taste was excellent and the pork came out very tender. It did come out a bit too salty for my taste so next time I will use lite soy sauce. I also had to occasionally add water to the pan while baking to avoid having the marinade dry out and burn. As suggested by another reviewer, I roasted the loin at 450 for 10 minutes and then lowered to 325 for the remainder. It took about one and a half hours to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Made this for yesterday (Sunday Dinner)... what a HUGE hit! Everyone just loved the sauce. I had to use Plum Jelly because my grocer was out of Currant Jelly... it still was wonderful. I bet a Black Berry Jelly would even be great. Experiment with it. It was wonderful! Thanks for sharing! : )))))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Wow! My first ever pork roast was a huge success thanks to this recipe. I used fresh ginger and fresh thyme. Used an oven bag (no need to baste) to decrease the cooking time and took the pork out when the meat thermometer read 155 degrees (it continued to cook after I removed it from the oven). Everyone wanted extra currant sauce. I used half a jar of red and half a jar of black currant jelly, since I didn't know which one would taste better. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
Excellent!! I used hot pepper jelly instead of the currant jelly. Added alittle more zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States