Marinated Pork Roast with Currant Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Made this for yesterday (Sunday Dinner)... what a HUGE hit! Everyone just loved the sauce. I had to use Plum Jelly because my grocer was out of Currant Jelly... it still was wonderful. I bet a Black Berry Jelly would even be great. Experiment with it. It was wonderful! Thanks for sharing! : )))))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This is the best pork roast recipe we have used in the past 35 years! A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
This recipe turned out WONDERFUL! The only thing I did different was to bake the roast for 10 minutes at 450 degrees, then turn the oven down to 325 and bake it until it got up to temperature. This is a technique I learned in cooking school. Cooking a roast at a very high temperature for a short amount of time (10 minutes) sears the outside of the roast and helps to lock in moisture during the remainder of the cooking. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
My family loves this pork recipe. Wonderful flavors and tenderness (when not over coooked). With my oven I have to reduce the cooking time significantly, but as long as I keep an eye on the meat thermometer it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I love to try different recipes. The first time I made this pork was probably two years ago. It is so incredibly awesome. I generally marinate it overnight and throw it in the slow cooker in the morning. When I make the currant sauce I put in just a touch of corn starch to thicken slightly. This will again be part of my Christmas buffet table. And mark my words - it will get the most comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SALLYANNIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
The pork was moist and tender but..... Usually, I only use pork tenderloins but decided to give this roast recipe a try. It did make a lot but even though this marinated overnight, the flavor did not go all the way through the roast so only the edges soaked up the flavor. The sauce was O.K. but not really special. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
We made this dish for a formal dinner fundraiser for our youth group. We served 200 people. I marinated the pork overnight and it was so tender you could cut it with a fork. The flavor was wonderful and we received many compliments and requests for the recipe. The only change we made was to add dried cranberries to the sauce for presentation sake. The cranberries plumped up nicely and were a great touch. I'll be making this dish for my family's Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
I only used the marinade portion of the recipe. Since I didn't have all the ingrediants for the sauce. I roasted my pork roast on the grill and it was Very Tasty and Tender. It didn't even need the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Very Tasty, The Sauce really is a special touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCJHARVEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fox Lake, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
I raided my freezer and added to the currant sauce about 2 cups of the black raspberries I harvested last summer in my woods. Tremendously elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States