Marinated Pork Roast with Currant Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Delicious and tender--more tender than any other pork loin recipe I've tried. The sauce is awfully sweet, obviously, so I recommend only using a little of it. Will make again, next time for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
My girlfriend made this recipe lst night for us and it was great. She overcooked her roast a bit so the meat was dry...however, we sliced it and poured the sauce all over it and let it sit...wow! I'll do it again but be sure to pull the roast out at 160.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNIKOLAISEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Manchester, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
The taste was excellent and the pork came out very tender. It did come out a bit too salty for my taste so next time I will use lite soy sauce. I also had to occasionally add water to the pan while baking to avoid having the marinade dry out and burn. As suggested by another reviewer, I roasted the loin at 450 for 10 minutes and then lowered to 325 for the remainder. It took about one and a half hours to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Made this for yesterday (Sunday Dinner)... what a HUGE hit! Everyone just loved the sauce. I had to use Plum Jelly because my grocer was out of Currant Jelly... it still was wonderful. I bet a Black Berry Jelly would even be great. Experiment with it. It was wonderful! Thanks for sharing! : )))))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This is the best pork roast recipe we have used in the past 35 years! A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
This recipe turned out WONDERFUL! The only thing I did different was to bake the roast for 10 minutes at 450 degrees, then turn the oven down to 325 and bake it until it got up to temperature. This is a technique I learned in cooking school. Cooking a roast at a very high temperature for a short amount of time (10 minutes) sears the outside of the roast and helps to lock in moisture during the remainder of the cooking. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
My family loves this pork recipe. Wonderful flavors and tenderness (when not over coooked). With my oven I have to reduce the cooking time significantly, but as long as I keep an eye on the meat thermometer it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I love to try different recipes. The first time I made this pork was probably two years ago. It is so incredibly awesome. I generally marinate it overnight and throw it in the slow cooker in the morning. When I make the currant sauce I put in just a touch of corn starch to thicken slightly. This will again be part of my Christmas buffet table. And mark my words - it will get the most comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SALLYANNIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
The pork was moist and tender but..... Usually, I only use pork tenderloins but decided to give this roast recipe a try. It did make a lot but even though this marinated overnight, the flavor did not go all the way through the roast so only the edges soaked up the flavor. The sauce was O.K. but not really special. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
We made this dish for a formal dinner fundraiser for our youth group. We served 200 people. I marinated the pork overnight and it was so tender you could cut it with a fork. The flavor was wonderful and we received many compliments and requests for the recipe. The only change we made was to add dried cranberries to the sauce for presentation sake. The cranberries plumped up nicely and were a great touch. I'll be making this dish for my family's Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States