Marinated Pork Roast with Currant Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I've been making his recipe for Christmas for many years, then I lost the recipe. I was so excited I found this on Allrecipes. Almost a perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Luxury meal that is budget friendly. I was trying to find a pork loin recipe that allowed me to use up some dry sherry from a recent family event and this was a winner. I used drinking sherry, blackberry currant jelly [I had just a bit in a jar in my fridge], a tbsp of herb mustard instead of mustard powder, and some sauted onions and garlic. I also seared the pork loin first in the pan before roasting it. This was very very good and restaurant quality. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Wow! This was fantastic...made it for my family for Christmas...what a treat! So moist, cut like butter! It also looks beautiful when done. I had a 7 pound loin and didn't increase the marinade amount, it was great! My 7 pound loin was done to perfection in 3 hours. The currant sauce was also wonderful...not too sweet, with a little tang. Remember to bake it fat side up, so the juices soak through the meat. So easy and sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I really really liked this recipe! The only thing that I didnt like was the marinade was a bit salty from the soy sauce, so I suggest using low sodium. I followed another reviewers advice and cooked the roast at 425 for 10 minutes to seal the moisture in and this roast came out PERFECT!! Very tender and juicy! I did tent it with foil when I reduced the temperature to 325. Be sure to baste the roast and add a little water to the pan if necessary since a lot of the marinade seemed to dry out in the pan. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVESUBLIME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Made this for an impromptu dinner party and it was a hit. I didn't have time to marinate it, so I just browned it in olive oil on all sides, seasoned it with course black pepper, and continued with the rest of the recipe. Couldn't find currant jelly w/o corn syrup (dau is allergic) so I used Thomson's TwinBerry Preserves (raspberry/blueberry) and it was still wonderful. So simple! Served it with green beans, steamed cauliflower, and red potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Very good, did not cook as long as the recipe stated (ended up overcooked due to not checking the time). Also per other reviewer suggestions, cooked in oven bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EIKNIP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
How oustanding was this! Truly delicious, and a festive way to start 2011. I made the marinade exactly as written and marinated my 4 lb boneless pork loin roast overnight. Next morning I placed a large sheet of foil in the slow cooker horizontally, one vertically, and placed the roast and marinade in and sealed it up. Slow cooked for 7 1/2 and it was perfectly tender and delicious. I prepared the sauce as published, just added some shallot and pork broth, thyme & cracked pepper to the sauce. Very, very good. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Jackie. Happy New Year, everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Excellent Sauce. I enjoyed it abit cooler as well and let it cool for a while prior to serving it on the plate. The pork was great with the marinade after sitting for 6 hours. Fabulous dinner party meal main.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
After reading the other reviews I was curious to try the sauce - it was quite good as others stated (I used red currant jelly, btw), but what was understated in my and my husband's opinion, was the marinade - made the meat fantastic! Easy recipe and overall terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This is such a great recipe, especially for a large party. I followed the advice of a few other reviewers and bake at 450 degrees for the 1st 10 minutes and the meat came out moist and juicy. Awesome recipe - thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States