Marinated Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
I added just a bit more brown sugar to this marinade because it had a bitter aftertaste. A dash of orange juice could give this marinde an added touch of sweetness. I thought the presentation was wonderful, with the colors of the red and green pepper. Next time, though I am going to cut the peppers into long shoestrings to make the jarred presentation more dramtic. This is the perfect thing to take to a Holiday gathering. They look and smell very inviting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLIVNILLI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
i made these for christmas last year and my whole family loved them! very easy to make ahead of time. if you love mushrooms, you will love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wayne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
AND I DON'T EVEN EAT MUSHROOMS! August 20, 2003 from Melissa: I made these Marinated Mushrooms last weekend to take to a niece's college graduation party. What a hit they were! I don't care for mushrooms myself, but can always recognize a good recipe when I see one! I had at least 8 people make a point of coming up to me to tell me EMPHATICALLY how much they loved the mushrooms. They would say something like "I love those mushrooms you made" and I'd say "Oh, thanks, glad you like 'em." and they'd say something like "I mean I REALLY like 'em." It's not that often that people go out of their way to comment TWICE on the same dish! I'll definitely be making this one a staple of my "party dishes"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Burnet, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
Great recipe! We doubled the size for a family get-together and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
These were fantastic! Boiling the mushrooms, then allowing them to cool in the pot gave them a nice texture. However, I realized too late that I had completely forgotten the brown sugar--but it didn't matter!! So, I recommend trying them without the sugar--they were really zesty! Next time, I will use the sugar, but they were great anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Outstanding by everyone that tried them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JNSUBSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cisco, Texas, USA
Living In: Itasca, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
Served these as an appetizer for Christmas Eve and they were absolutely delicious!! Also, very very easy to make!! Make way ahead of time and refrigerate until you're ready to serve them!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
I served these chilled the day I made them and they were awful. I don't know what was wrong. The alcohol/vinegar taste was so strong we could barely choke them down and I didn't even use all that it called for. I was the only one willing to try them again a few days later and they were much better, but still not as good as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL, I LOVED THIS RECIPE, WILL MAKE AGAIN! MY FAMILY LOVED IT. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
My husband liked these a lot better than I did. I thought the vinegar taste was very strong. Might try again with white wine and white wine vinegar. The red seemed 'heavy' for mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Stone Strachan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States