Marinated Mushrooms II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
I doubled the recipe for my Italian Buffet Party and they the first thing to go. Everyone kept coming back and getting another one and another one and another one. The men said they couldn't stop eating them. Very simple and easy to prepare and great for a crowd. Would make these again in a second.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
Not to put too fine a point on it, but these were terrible. Waaaay too sweet. I added more vinegar, more spices and hot sauce in an attempt to fix these mushrooms, but in the end was still disappointed that I'd wasted food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
I agree - these are too sweet and not salty enough as is. After a couple of days I brought some wine vinegar to a boil with a few more cloves of garlic-minced, some red pepper flakes, salt and just a smidge of olive oil. After it cooled, I poured in about another cup. The taste was immediately improved. I am putting these in little jars to put in gift baskets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
I made this recipe for our Xmas pot luck lunch and rec'd many compliments. I took the suggestion by another poster and cooked the mushrooms for 2 min and then simmered for 5 min. Need to double the recipe for next year's gathering I was told.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
I don't actually eat mushrooms, but I made these for my husband and his friends. They agreed that they were very good, but not spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I substituted Splenda for the brown sugar & my husband thought the recipe was too sweet! I think they taste vinegary though. Anyway, I served some to a friend, & she rated them "perfect." I'd recommend making them the day before serving as they get better as they marinate. You may want to take them out of the frig a little ahead of time before serving as sometimes the olive oil solidifies in the frig.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
Very good. I only simmered the mushrooms for 2 minutes, then put the lid on the pan and let them 'steam' for 5 minutes because mushrooms cook in a very short time. I have found that if I cook them too long they loose some of the mushroom flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
EXCELLENT! This sure was a crowd favorite! I made these for an 80th birthday party and they were the first things to go. I thought the vinegar was too tangy so I poured out some of it and added soy sauce to taste. I didn't have any dry mustard, but added a couple drops of hot sauce instead. I made these a couple days in advance and each day they got better. I used 4 boxes of fresh mushrooms. They were a huge hit, especially with all the men that are "hunters and fishermen". I will make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
These mushrooms were good. Both my husband and I enjoyed it. We did leave out the dry mustard since we did not have that and used splenda instead of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
I bought a bag of mushrooms on sale this week for 1.49/lb. without even knowing what I was going to do with them. We just love mushrooms:) I found this recipe and had all the ingredients so I thought I'd give it a try.....these are absolutely delicious!!!! I can't wait to make them for company or to take to work. I will definitely double this next time around. Just wish I knew for sure how long they kept in the fridge as I don't can......but my mom does so this may turn into a summer project:)Thank you so much for sharing!! My husband thanks you also:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States