Marinated Mushrooms II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Not quite what I was hoping for. Tasted too much like vinegar. And I love vinegar, so I don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Downey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chippewa Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Broadview Heights, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I thought these mushrooms were good but they were not quite what I expected. I am looking for a zestier recipe. However, I will say that they were even better cooked! Yum! I am going to keep searching for what I am looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Lemke Nugent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Made these for Christmas and no one liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYLYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I read all the reviews and was excited to try this recipe. Maybe too excited. I followed the instructions exactly, and the result was an odd concoction of tangy and sweet that seemed "off." Granted, I tried them after they cooled for only a few hours, so maybe in a couple days the flavors will mellow and blend better, but for now, I am disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I had medium/large button shrooms I had to use, so I quartered them for this recipe. I cooked the marinade in a wider pan, so I had to add 1/3 cup water, but when jarring, wished I hadn't because it was too much liquid. I followed Wilemon's advice of simmering the shrooms for 2 min, then "steaming" for 5 min, and my shrooms had a great consistency. Next time I'll reduce the parsley as it seemed there was too much, and maybe mix a different vinegar with the red wine vinegar, because I thought the taste was a bit strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
When I first assembled these, I thought I wasn't going to like the recipe: they seemed oily and too spicy. The secret is to really let them marinade (I made them 2 days in advance) - when the flavors blend and mellow, they are really great! I had to use white wine vinegar, and it was fine - I used a bit more than called for since it was a mild vinegar. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Very good, I'm making several more batches of this today to can for family Christmas baskets. The only thing I'm going to do different is halve the onion amount. Not being a real onion person myself, a lot of it got thrown away after we picked out the mushrooms and I don't think it will make a huge difference in the marinating flavors. Very good and it's a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Lee Madden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I used button and crimini mushrooms. I cut the big ones into 4 pieces for easier eating. The only thing extra I added was cut up marinated red peppers for color and taste. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
these were great! i'm not a fan of mushrooms on their own - i always have to pair them with something. so, i used this recipe to marinate about a pound of white mushrooms, let them rest in fridge for a day, and then cooked them on kabobs with chicken and veggies - it was so good! i will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Everyone loved these. I simmered for the full 12 minutes and then refrigerated overnight. The vinegar wasn't overpowering to me, as some reviews have stated. Great cold appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States