Marinated Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
So I made this for my college kid who loves mushrooms. When she tasted it, she hated it. Said it had too much vinegar in it. What the heck does she know? This recipe is fabulous just as written and perfect. The mushrooms get a nice texture and the flavor is spot on. The marinade itself is wonderful and could be used for a lot of different things. Maybe cauliflower for instance. Now I probably won't make this recipe again, sadly, because there are only two mushroom lovers in my house, and obviously one has no taste, and the other, me, can't eat this all by himself. Thanks for the experience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
These just didn't work out for me. All I tasted was vinegar. The mushrooms were rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by Starlove3
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I omitted the vinegar and used 2 tablespoons. I also only made half but I doubled the garlic and red peppers. I also added some yellow bell pepper just because I had them already. We let them marinate for 3 days but I was tasting them the second day and they were so good! They were super delicious!! I can't wait to share with friends. We served this with steak and asparagus. I think it would also be really great with pasta and/or salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlove3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I could eat all of 'em in one sitting, but I won't because Momma taught me to share. The only ingredient I didn't use was the MSG. I marinated them for 2 days. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I used balsamic and red wine vinegars instead of white and local raw honey instead of sugar for extra flavor. Didnt use any MSG. Marinated one day, used 'shrooms in a pasta salad, really tasty. Really liked marinating Portabella caps in it and then grilling as one reviewer mentioned. YUM. Nice take-along alternative for vegetarians going to a barbeque who dont want to eat a prepared GMO-laden soyburger. Next time might try adding a little curry powder to the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Doubled the spices (except for msg), used balsamic for 1/3 of the vinegar. Delicious and a little spicy thanks to the red pepper flakes! Much better than the jarred kind from the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I skipped the msg and used balsamic vinegar instead of white vinegar. Double the spices and you're all set. Wonderful flavor. A little oily but I've never had marinated shrooms that weren't. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I used to buy marinated mushrooms from my local deli market, they were expensive. This is very tasty, same or better than my local deli. I don't use MSG, as probably it is used in the recipe as a food preserver, and my family makes sure that they don't last long in the fridge. I use balsamic, but red wine vinegar is good also. The use of red onions instead of yellow or white onions gives it a mellower flavor. I also add a squeeze of lemon or lime (whatever you have in hand), as it gives it a very fresh flavor. Other variations, use Crimini (Baby Bella) instead of Button Mushrooms, and also try the marinade brushed over grilled Portabella; simply wonderful. Double up on this one, inexpensive to make and extremely tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Made as directed except didn't add MSG, it gives me headaches. Family couldn't keep out of it for even 24 hours! Had to practically hide it to get it to the 3 day mark. Tangy, tasty, wonderful combination. Daughter even used the liquid to put on bread! Salty, slightly sweet, tangy, peppery, wonderful combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States