Marinated Mushroom and Eggplant with Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2000
This recipe was yummy, but required a little more effort than I am used to when preparing for a BBQ. It is definately company food! I used Cayenne instead of Chili poweder since my husband is allergic, and it turned out good. I recommend doubling the marinade, and adding more spice to the dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2000
The combination of mushrooms and eggplant is great and the marinade is easy and delicious. However, we did not think too much of the peanut sauce and the kabobs actually tasted wonderful without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Linz, Oberösterreich, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2001
I thought this was a wonderful recipe. It is a bit time consuming, but not really difficult. I would marinate the vegetables in a plastic bag, then thread them onto skewers. That way, they would make better contact with the marinade. The peanut sauce was great. I might add a little hot sauce to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
I have prepared this twice now. Both times we did not get to the peanut sauce but did add other veggies to the marinade. Very good....a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Sorry but this one didn't work out well for me. Although I grilled the skewers for at least 15 minutes, the eggplant didn't seem to be cooked enough. The mushrooms were good but I don't think I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I could not find crimini mushrooms, so I just used white buttons. I really enjoyed making this dish for recent company. I prepared everything in advance including the peanut sauce and then just reheated. The marinade was perfect and subtle. I would add more spices to the sauce for just a bit more "zing" -perhaps more chili powder, red pepper flakes, more ginger, and maybe some cayenne. Truly this is a delight for who does not love peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Punta Gorda, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Yummy! I changed a few things, though. I did use white button mushrooms, because there were no crimini available. Also, I did not cook the garlic for the marinade and I marinaded for 1 day. In order for your eggplant to come out perfectly, remember to sweat the eggplant first, then it will shed its water and absorb marinade much better. The peanut sauce is super good. There was a lot left over, so I added a little water to thin out slightly, and mixed the leftover sauce in with some hot cooked egg noodles, and topped with soy sauce and sriracha. You can cut up any leftover eggplant and mushrooms and add to the pasta, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States