Marinated Green Beans with Olives, Tomatoes, and Feta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I tried this cold and hot, and I like it much better hot! If you do try it as a salad, I'd recommend adding a little more vinegar since there's not much dresing for 2 lb. of beans. Also, hot or cold, I think 8-10 minutes is too long to cook the beans. 3-5 minutes is plenty if you like your beans cooked but not mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Double Wow! I made this refreshingly cool, colorful dish a day ahead for a Labor Day get together of some major 'foodies' - got rave reviews and was named "MVC" - Most Valuabe Cook - of the day! I had tiny pearl to grape size red and yellow tomatoes so I just crushed them slightly when I added them to the marinade ingredients. The dainty tomatoes really enhanced the presentation! Our small town did not have fresh oregano to offer, so I took a chance with dried oregano - the taste was still great. Also had to use regular olives this time - but this dish is a classic - it can be tweaked many ways with successful results. Will make again soon with the fresh herbs - and then again and again and . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamBAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by HOODOORIDER
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This was a terrific combination of flavors. I made some substitutions, though: instead of fresh seeded tomatoes, I used oil-packed sundried tomatoes as the flavor is more intense, and I omitted the olives (only because I was also serving a pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and kalamata olives and didn't want the salads too similar). And the cooking time for the beans is way too long: 3-4 minutes is sufficient. Be sure the pepper is freshly ground and fairly coarse too. I love balsamic vinegar and wanted to use it rather than the red wine vinegar, but I think the lighter flavor of the red wine vinegar was a good choice. All in all, a refreshingly different salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
VERY GOOD!! This is light and refreshing! I cooked my beans for 5 1/2 min. before shocking them in ice water and they were perfectly crisp-tender. I combined everything except the feta, which I just sprinkled on top - I think it's prettier that way. And next time I'll prep the salad and dressing, but keep them separate, and toss together just before serving. The beans lost some of their bright, beautiful green color when they were coated with dressing that far ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I changed the recipe slightly, I halved the amount of green beans and still had leftovers. Hubby loved it and took some for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillie_pad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Watauga, Texas, USA
Living In: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
this dish is amazing, and so simple. i used grape tomatoes and cut them in half and cooked the olive/tomato/oregano mixture in the garlic for an additional 30 seconds to blend the flavors even more. definitely tastes better the next day, however when i make it again tonight, i will hold off on putting the feta on the salad until serving. i wish green beans were in season all year round, because this dish is my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allie von Schepp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
try using greek seasoning instead of just oregano
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Easy and delicious. I'm not a big fan of feta, but the olives really complement the flavor of that cheese. I have a lot of green beans and cherry tomatoes from the garden and I can fix this in the morning and take for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greykitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havre, Montana, USA
Living In: Sunnyside, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Great pot luck dish. I too used grape tomatoes, halved. You do have to watch the cooking time on the green beans and be sure to chill at least 3 hours, preferably overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
This is an excellent side dish - but you definitely have to use fresh oregano. I prefer to cut back on the olives, but that is a matter of taste. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States