Marinated Green Beans with Olives, Tomatoes, and Feta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
good and garlicky(I always double)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Great for a party. A lot of flavor. Love it! Only negative, it does not make good leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentone, Indiana, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
VERY GOOD!! This is light and refreshing! I cooked my beans for 5 1/2 min. before shocking them in ice water and they were perfectly crisp-tender. I combined everything except the feta, which I just sprinkled on top - I think it's prettier that way. And next time I'll prep the salad and dressing, but keep them separate, and toss together just before serving. The beans lost some of their bright, beautiful green color when they were coated with dressing that far ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HOODOORIDER
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This was a terrific combination of flavors. I made some substitutions, though: instead of fresh seeded tomatoes, I used oil-packed sundried tomatoes as the flavor is more intense, and I omitted the olives (only because I was also serving a pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and kalamata olives and didn't want the salads too similar). And the cooking time for the beans is way too long: 3-4 minutes is sufficient. Be sure the pepper is freshly ground and fairly coarse too. I love balsamic vinegar and wanted to use it rather than the red wine vinegar, but I think the lighter flavor of the red wine vinegar was a good choice. All in all, a refreshingly different salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Easy and delicious. I'm not a big fan of feta, but the olives really complement the flavor of that cheese. I have a lot of green beans and cherry tomatoes from the garden and I can fix this in the morning and take for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greykitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havre, Montana, USA
Living In: Sunnyside, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
So great, I made this twice in one week, it gone so quickly both times. The only thing I changed was to leave out the kalamatas because I hate olives. Don't try to leave out the feta, because it makes the salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
try using greek seasoning instead of just oregano
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
this dish is amazing, and so simple. i used grape tomatoes and cut them in half and cooked the olive/tomato/oregano mixture in the garlic for an additional 30 seconds to blend the flavors even more. definitely tastes better the next day, however when i make it again tonight, i will hold off on putting the feta on the salad until serving. i wish green beans were in season all year round, because this dish is my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allie von Schepp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This was an amazingly refreshing side dish. I served it with a grilled steak and it was perfect for a hot summer night. I also made the leftovers into a new lunch the next day. I took the leftovers and added a can of tuna, some red onion and a bit more vinegar and it was a hit! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This recipe was so good. I took it to a barbecue last night and it was a big hit. I didn't cook the beans as long either and I immediately put them in ice cold water after about 5 minutes. I forgot the fresh oregano and substituted dried. Next time I won't forget. I bet the fresh would make this salad even better. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States