Marinated Greek Chicken Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Oh, my freakin' WORD!!!!! What a fabulous flavor! This takes chicken over the edge of extraordinary taste. I would have never thought in a gazillion years of using yogurt as a marinade vehicle, but it's nothing short of genius. Maybe this hyperbole is owed, in part at least, to the wonderful fresh herbs I grow. One of the fringe benefits of living in Florida - they grow like weeds, so there's always plenty to be used. I only had straight feta, so laced it liberally with fresh minced basil from the garden and a spoon of tomato paste. It lent a lovely, light salmon-pink blush to the chicken. Added chopped fresh rosemary, oregano and parsley leaves which, together with the basil, punctuated the pinkish marinade profusely with flecks of bright green. I was going to add some crushed garlic, but knowing that garlic is such an assertive flavor that can tend to take over, I wanted to give this a shot first [almost, that is, since I didn't have the basil and sun dried tomato feta] as written. So I stuck to the ingredients in the recipe, and was richly rewarded. No garlic needed, and the verdict is I don't even want to add it in subsequent efforts. I found the lemon flavor to be the perfect foil for the yogurt, and it played off the oregano masterfully. We're not big pepper people, so I substituted mushrooms on the skewers. Thank you for an absolutely stupendous recipe. Edited: Subbed lime zest and juice for the lemon - spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
We also did not make kabobs but put boneless, skinless chicken breasts into a freezer bag with all ingredients - used fresh rosemary and added a heaping tablespoon of garlic and kept all other ingredients the same. When we were ready to grill the chicken we pulled it out of the freezer and let it thaw during the day...grilled the breasts and served them over brown basmati rice, sprinkling feta over all. It really had an awesome pungent flavor that we loved! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I did not make kabobs, but instead used the marinade (minus the feta) to coat chicken breats. Then I baked them. The yogurt kept the chicken amazingly moist! The spices and lemon were perfect. I also stuffed the breasts with some feta, and 15 minutes before pulling it from the oven I sprinkled feta on top. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kofa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Flavor was good, but it definitely had some texture issues. I may try this again cutting down on the marinade time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grifo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cragsmoor, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA
Photo by JennP
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
These were delicious! My husband said he didn't really taste the marinade, but I noticed a difference. We served with Mediterranean Greek salad found on this site and Pita Wedges and Tzatziki Sauce (from this site). Delicious Meal and got many comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
After upping the spice content a bit with extra oregano, garlic, and lots of fresh rosemary, this recipe turned out great. My family loved it. I also added a bit more salt, as the yogurt can be pretty sour. The yogurt makes the chicken incredibly moist, but be very careful not to overcook the chicken on the grill or it can get pretty dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
The chicken was very well cooked and really retained the flavor of the marinade. I only added one tablespoon of lemon juice and it was still really lemony. I also added garlic and I thought it really added to the flavor. The one complaint I would make is that there was too much feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
One word, BLAND!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
these were very good. Marinated for almost 24 hours. used 1 tsp. oregano and 1 tsp. basil. Other ingredients the same except for 1 extra clove of garlic. Skewered w/mushrooms, fresh pearl onions, sweet red and green peppers. Present nicely. Very tender. thanks for this recipe. I think I prefer the marinade for Hawaiian chicken kabobs a bit better and more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
My boyfriend and I greatly enjoyed this recipe. I don't have a grater, so I had to leave out the lemon zest. I never would have thought to add feta to a marinade, but it was delicious. We might try adding a little garlic next time because we like it, but the recipe was wonderful without it too. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSONJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Lime Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a quick, flavorful marinade for grilled chicken kabobs.

Yummy Honey Chicken Kabobs

See how to grill sweet and savory chicken and veggie kabobs.

Greek Chicken

See how to make simple Greek-inspired grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States