Marinated Greek Chicken Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Oh, my freakin' WORD!!!!! What a fabulous flavor! This takes chicken over the edge of extraordinary taste. I would have never thought in a gazillion years of using yogurt as a marinade vehicle, but it's nothing short of genius. Maybe this hyperbole is owed, in part at least, to the wonderful fresh herbs I grow. One of the fringe benefits of living in Florida - they grow like weeds, so there's always plenty to be used. I only had straight feta, so laced it liberally with fresh minced basil from the garden and a spoon of tomato paste. It lent a lovely, light salmon-pink blush to the chicken. Added chopped fresh rosemary, oregano and parsley leaves which, together with the basil, punctuated the pinkish marinade profusely with flecks of bright green. I was going to add some crushed garlic, but knowing that garlic is such an assertive flavor that can tend to take over, I wanted to give this a shot first [almost, that is, since I didn't have the basil and sun dried tomato feta] as written. So I stuck to the ingredients in the recipe, and was richly rewarded. No garlic needed, and the verdict is I don't even want to add it in subsequent efforts. I found the lemon flavor to be the perfect foil for the yogurt, and it played off the oregano masterfully. We're not big pepper people, so I substituted mushrooms on the skewers. Thank you for an absolutely stupendous recipe. Edited: Subbed lime zest and juice for the lemon - spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
267 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This marinade was fantastic. My whole family loved it. As a vegetarian I made veggi kabobs with the marinade and it is fntastic on broccolie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy-D-W

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Love this recipe. Chicken always comes out tender and flavors are wonderful. You can also use lime or lemon yogurt for an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
After upping the spice content a bit with extra oregano, garlic, and lots of fresh rosemary, this recipe turned out great. My family loved it. I also added a bit more salt, as the yogurt can be pretty sour. The yogurt makes the chicken incredibly moist, but be very careful not to overcook the chicken on the grill or it can get pretty dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This was really good! I used a little bit of the marinade for dipping sauce. Yummy! I just used regular feta, but I bet it would be better with the sun dried tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Delicious - I served with taziki sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This chicken was really bland, and the yogurt burned onto the outside of the chicken. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Good, basic, easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greykitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havre, Montana, USA
Living In: Sunnyside, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This recipe is excellent. I thought it was really easy to make. It will become a regular around our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Very good and easy. I took the advice of other reviews and added garlic too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Lime Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a quick, flavorful marinade for grilled chicken kabobs.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Yummy Honey Chicken Kabobs

See how to grill sweet and savory chicken and veggie kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States