Marinated Flat Iron Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Very good marinade for a tasy cut of beef. For those sayin the flat iron is too tough you must be cutting it incorrectly. Try cutting in 1/4" strips ACROSS the grain. This makes a world of difference. Use fresh roasted and smashed garlic instead of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Harvest, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Thanks Recipe Exchange ladies for this recipe! I had bought a flat iron steak at the store and had no idea what I was going to do with it. I posted a request on the recipe exchange and this recipe was suggested. It turned out great. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Yes, this marinade is much sweeter than most. But I liked it. Instead of grilling the steak, I cut the marinated (overnight) meat in strips and pan fried in the marinade. Served with rice and a simple salad of baby greens and grape tomatoes for a very delicious meal. (There were a few steak strips left over from the first meal and I sauteed red bell pepper and onions, added some oregano, and the meat for very tasty fajitas.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
It was the first time I tried this recipe. It was delicious however I thought there was too much of a honey taste, so I'll reduce it a bit the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I love the marinade. I went exactly by the recipe. I let it marinate for three days in the baggie in a refrigerator. What I don't enjoy so much is this particular cut of meat. I think it was grilled properly (it was pink in the middle), but it's just a tough cut of meat. I will absolutely use the marinade again on a different cut of steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Excellent Marinade! I've made this a few times exactly as the recipe states and it's fabulous, my family loves it! I typically mix the marinade and get the steaks soaking first thing in the morning then by the time I get home from work they've been soaking for hours and the flavor is just perfect. I imagine if they soaked over night they'd be even better but I never remember to do it the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Weaver

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Delicious! I marinate for a good 24 hours. I think th ehoney and balsamic giv eit great flavor. I've even used this for a giant chuck steak and threw everything along with some potatoes, carrots, onion and stock into a crock pot and made a kind of pot roast out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I modified this a little...to make it easier and adapt to our tastes: delicious!! Mixed the liquid ingredients as instructed, but instead of adding the dried herbs, I just coated my steak with a healthy dose of Montreal Steak seasoning. Poured the marinade on, sealed the ziplock bag, and refrigerated about 10 hours before cooking on the grill. Take the steak out of the marinade and let the steak come to room temp if you can before grilling. Delicious! So tender and juicy! Everyone enjoyed this. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Loved This Recipe Steak was nice and juicy would cook this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kamisha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Marinade was excellent! I marinated for over 24 hours and the taste was amazing. It is a little sweet but a good change from the norm. Also, the meat turned out very tender. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICASRECIPES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States