Marinated Flat Iron Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Great marinade that hits all 4 taste centers in your mouth (sweet, sour, salt, bitter)! The Flat Iron steak cooked Medium Rare is hard to beat for flavor and tenderness. I prefer to tenderize it even more with a Jaccard 3-row meat tenderizer. Use the marinade recipe above, throw it and the meat in a 9X9" pyrex baking dish and then use the tenderizer to infuse the marinade deep into the meat and help cut through the connective tissues. Cook 4 minutes on the first side, 6 minutes on the flip side and then remove from the grill and wrap with tin-foil for 5 to 10 minutes to let the juices reabsorb. Do not overcook this cut of beef, the thicker end will come out Medium Rare while the thinner end comes out Medium. Cut across the grain in 1/8" to 1/4" strips and watch the meat disappear. This same method works well for Flank Steak but pound for pound dollar-wise, nothing beats the Flat Iron for taste and tenderness. Thanks for the great marinade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I happened to cook 2 flat iron steaks at the same time b/c they were on sale. The marinade recipe was adequate to flavor both of them however. I put the full 3 Tbsp. of honey in even though some reviewers thought it made it too sweet. I feel the balsamic vinegar and worcestershire were strong enough to counterbalance the sweetness of the honey so I do not plan to reduce the honey amount in the future. Ratio is good as is. Flavor was very good. As for tenderness of flat iron steak, it is more tender than flank when cooked in a similar manner! I might purchase flat iron cuts more often after this good first-time experience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
May need to be marinated longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Not very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
needed something sweet in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Taste was complex, and each flavor stood out. But the recipe yields a bit too much marinade (for me, at least) for the amount of meat. I cut down all of the 3 tblsp to 2 tblsp instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
It was flavorful, but a little sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Fabulous recipe! Followed the suggestion of less honey (2 T) and family doesn't like rosemary so substituted with Italian Seasoning. Turned out tender and flavorful. Picky eater son even had seconds! Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wycoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Yes, a tad on the sweet side, as many reviewers pointed out. I liked it exactly per the recipe. Others can certainly either reduce the amount of honey or simply not marinade as long. What I find odd is the number of you who think this is a tough cut of steak. The Flat Iron cut is a relatively "recent discovery" as far as offerings in the way meat is cut. I agree with those who claim it is extremely tender. Be SURE to cut against the grain. Makes a world of difference. ALLEZ CUISINE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This was my first attempt ever at grilling a steak. Chose the flat iron cut because I could afford it. Came out absolutely perfect! Although reviews say it's best as medium rare, we like ours without any pink. Grilled it about 6 minutes each side, with another few minutes on the rack above - nice and charcoaly outside, moist inside. Used recipe as is though had to leave out rosemary because we didn't have any. Added a little salt when served. Will not change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States