Marinated Flat Iron Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Very good marinade. I smoked it at low temperature and it was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I used the marinate as it was written in the recipe except I used rice wine vinegar and left out the rosemary. I left it in the frig overnight. I grilled it on both sides for 5 min. It looked and smelled wonderful. I let it rest for 15 min and then tried to cut it. None of my knives would cut the meat and I had to resort to my electric knife. The steak had so much of a white membrane running through it that even the electric knife wouldn't cut it. I would think that all flat iron steaks would be basically the same. This one was tough even after slicing it very thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Flat Iron steak has become very popular and is no longer an inexpensive meat where I am at (Denver). You are lucky to find it on sale for the price top sirloin steak. Good marinade recipe, I tried it on 3/4" thick boneless chuck steak, and it turned out very well. I used twice the amount of fresh tarragon and fresh rosemary, and added some chopped basil, and used 2 cloves of garlic, minced instead of dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrison, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Great marinade that hits all 4 taste centers in your mouth (sweet, sour, salt, bitter)! The Flat Iron steak cooked Medium Rare is hard to beat for flavor and tenderness. I prefer to tenderize it even more with a Jaccard 3-row meat tenderizer. Use the marinade recipe above, throw it and the meat in a 9X9" pyrex baking dish and then use the tenderizer to infuse the marinade deep into the meat and help cut through the connective tissues. Cook 4 minutes on the first side, 6 minutes on the flip side and then remove from the grill and wrap with tin-foil for 5 to 10 minutes to let the juices reabsorb. Do not overcook this cut of beef, the thicker end will come out Medium Rare while the thinner end comes out Medium. Cut across the grain in 1/8" to 1/4" strips and watch the meat disappear. This same method works well for Flank Steak but pound for pound dollar-wise, nothing beats the Flat Iron for taste and tenderness. Thanks for the great marinade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I happened to cook 2 flat iron steaks at the same time b/c they were on sale. The marinade recipe was adequate to flavor both of them however. I put the full 3 Tbsp. of honey in even though some reviewers thought it made it too sweet. I feel the balsamic vinegar and worcestershire were strong enough to counterbalance the sweetness of the honey so I do not plan to reduce the honey amount in the future. Ratio is good as is. Flavor was very good. As for tenderness of flat iron steak, it is more tender than flank when cooked in a similar manner! I might purchase flat iron cuts more often after this good first-time experience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
May need to be marinated longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Not very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
needed something sweet in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Taste was complex, and each flavor stood out. But the recipe yields a bit too much marinade (for me, at least) for the amount of meat. I cut down all of the 3 tblsp to 2 tblsp instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
It was flavorful, but a little sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States