Marinated Flank Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
This recipe is a keeper. We loved it! However, I did mine in the oven. I like to serve flank steak with a sauce and if you pour the marinade over the steak before roasting you are left with an awesome gravy that is great over potatoes too! Also, marinating overnight is great, but you should try this even if you only have an hour to marinate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1085 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Fajita meat was my target. My alterations to the recipe were; using balsamic vinegar in place of the red wine vinegar, using a grainy-type mustard (I used Beaver Deli Mustard) in place of dijon and then low sodium soy sauce. Everything went into a ziploc bag, then into the refrigerator for 8 hours. The flavor of the thinly sliced steak FAR exceeded my expectation. The feedback I got from my family was, "Mmm mm MMMM" and "mmM mMmmm MMmmMM!". I think that means its a keeper, thanks Connie for a fantastic addition to my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
609 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McLani

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
This marinade recipe is the only one we will ever use when making grilled flank steak for fajitas! I did make a couple of additions. Since we were using it for fajitas I added 1/2 T. ground Coriander and 1/2 T. ground Cumin. For the vinigar I used Balsamic. We left the steak in a zip lock for 2 days and when my husband sliced it, it could have been cut with a fork! I'm embarrassed to even mention how much we ate! Thank You Connie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
469 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
I cooked this in my broiler for 8 mins. on each side, basting occasionally with marinade. It was medium rare and quite good. Nice way to tenderize a tougher piece of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
This was my second time making this recipe for steak fajitas. This time, I added 1.5 teaspoons of ground cumin and corriander, along with a small handful of cilantro leaves, then substituted fresh lime juice and added a little lime zest. This time there were no complaints of bland steak, and the fajitas were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
This was a great way to make fajitas, I never thought to bbq a flank steak before. I marinated the meat for 48 hours (and added some slices of sweet onion, red and yellow pepper to the marinade an hour before I was ready to grill). We put the vegetables in tin foil and cooked them on the bbq as well (they took longer than the steak which we cooked to medium) We sliced the meat into thin strips with an electric knife and served with the vegetables, tortillas, cheese, sour cream, salsa, and guacamole. They were awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
WOW! Because of the rave ratings, I grilled last night in 40 degree, rainy, windy weather. It was well worth it! The only change I made was I substituted balsmaic vinegar for the red wine vinegar. Thanks for sharing such an awesome recipe! This will be one of the 'regulars' on my grill this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Outstanding...ignore everyones "I did this and I did that...blah..blah...blah". If they are so talented...why dont they post it as an original instead of riding someone elses idea? This is great as recipe in its original form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wickford, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
THIS IS AWESOME! I have been on a mission for years to find a good home-created fajita marinade. I love Chili's fajitas, and these are just as good! I did add about a tbs. of sugar to the marinade since I prefer a tinge of sweetness, but you MUST try this. Be sure to marinade for the FULL TIME given in recipe. Otherwise, the taste may not come out right. Good as leftovers the next day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYDIAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hurst, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Recipe delivered all that it said it would. I marinated for 24 hours and for flank steak it was moist and not tough at all. Since we are not big eaters, I did not cook half of the steak. Instead I put it into a crockpot, the next day, along with mexican spices and cooked for 6 hours on low. We had wonderful, shredded fajitas! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Fircrest, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 894) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Teriyaki Flank Steak

See how to make a tasty teriyaki marinade for grilled flank steak.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States