Marinated Fajita Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Recipe Group Selection: 28, April 2012 I used all the listed ingredients, but changed the cooking method. Due to time conflicts, I marinated the meat overnight and the next morning put the marinade and the chicken breast in the crockpot. They cooked all day and I then took 2 forks and shredded the meat. We had this for dinner as fajita's with grilled peppers, onions, lettuce and tomatoes. Also served as a fajita salad using the same ingredients plus salsa as the dressing. The lime flavor was very prominent with this method, but we really enjoyed the taste of the chicken. I am going to make and freeze burritos with the leftovers. Thank you Lauren for sharing your recipe. I think RG made a great selection for Cinco De Mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
The chicken had a nice flavor of lime, not too overpowering. I might put a few more spices in it the next time. I grilled instead and did not shred the chicken I just sliced it. So with some avocado, sour cream, salsa, peppers and onions all was a nice combination. I like having a fresh marinade recipe that is easy to make instead of buying something with preservatives, thanks recipe group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group...This was very good, but I felt the lime was a bit much, IMO (though I cannot fault the recipe b/c I did it differently). I sliced my chicken and threw it into the marinade w/ sliced onions and green and red peppers, and marinated all of that overnight. I then drained off the liquid and cooked it in a pan on the stove until it was done. It had great flavor, just a bit too lime-y for me (hubby liked it as it was). I served this on warmed flour tortillas w/ shredded cheddar, tomatoes, sour cream and salsa. Very nice dinner! I would def make this again (just reduce the lime juice)! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Made this for the weekly recipe group. I followed the marinating instructions and ingredients except I accidentally put in a teaspoon of cumin and chili powder instead of 1/2 tsp, but that turned out to be a good thing because I think it benefited with the extra spice. The chicken was very tender, but a bit strong on the lime flavor for us. I'd try it again but will cut down the amount of lime and add a bit more spices (we are just spice lovers here). We enjoyed the fajitas and felt it was a nice healthy meal. We topped with stir fried bell peppers, onions, jalapeños, fresh avocado slices and cheddar cheese. Served with a nice ear of corn on the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by Staci
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I made this for Recipe Group. It was quite good - I did reduce the lime juice to 1/2 of what was called for, but other than that followed the recipe and chopped, rather than shredded the final product. I used this chicken to make "Southwest Chicken Quesadillas" also from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Like others, I was worried about 8 hours in lime juice "cooking" the chicken. It was not an issue at all. I had smallish breast pieces, thin like cutlets, so it only took 1/2 cup lime juice and one Tbl oil to cover them with the marinade. I used the full amount of spices but I feel like once the meat's "surrounded" any additional liquid is just wasted. I marinated the full 8 hours, turning the bag a couple of times and then grilled them, which didn't really lend to shredding so I sliced it for tacos. The lime flavor is pretty strong but we like lime and chicken is so boring. I don't think I would prefer this just as a piece of chicken but in the tacos or on a salad the lime really adds to the dish, in my opinion. I made this for recipe group, good pick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Made for Recipe Group. This definitely had a strong citrus flavor with a lack of spices. The juice needs to be cut back and up the mexican flavors on the spices. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I gave it 4 stars only because I doubled the spices and halved the lime juice based on the reviews. We used the chicken to make tacos and we loved them. The leftovers are wonderful on sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crockpot queen
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Recipe Group selection of 4/28/11. I had rather large BLSL chix, so I sliced them before I marinated them. I used the full amount of lime and thought the flavor was fine. What I found lacking were the other flavors so I would increase the cumin, chili powder and red pepper. We will make these again. I think the chicken would be wonderful on the grill. Thanks for sharing, Lauren!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I didn't use this as a marinade, I just plopped all the ingredients in the crock pot and set it for low. At about 7 hours, I shredded the chicken, and we ate it an hour later. It was so delicious. After dinner, my husband said he then needed some dessert and went straight for the chicken again. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Delectable Marinated Chicken

Teriyaki sauce is the key to this delectable marinade for grilled chicken thighs.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States