Marinated Chicken Pita Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Four stars for the basic recipe, but it can be 5 stars if you make the tzatziki sauce by DEBNJAMES (and add a dash of cinnamon to the tzatziki) instead of plain yogurt. I tripled the recipe, used chicken thighs and marinated over night. Mixed all the diced tomato, onion, and added shredded lettuce. Then I added the tzatziki and made a kind of salad/slaw mixture. Filled the pitas with chicken, the salad mixture, and a few more bits of chicken on top. Hubby loved it; it makes a nice, and light, summer dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
My family all loved this flavor combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I made this recipe today and found it to be Very good,I made a tzatiki style cream sauce to pour over the mixture inside the pita and also stuffed the inside with fresh spinach. Outstanding!! Thanks for the recipe, this is definitely a keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I followed this recipe to the T. In time I will be able to fix this.... it all sounded good but would make a better soup that a pita sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Excellent dish. Quick and easy. When serving I included cucumber as a choice, along with the onion and tomato. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Oddly, had a slight taste of roasted marshmallow. I chopped the onion and tomato rather than sliced them. My husband and I enjoyed it immensely. It was simple to make with easy ingredients and I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samierene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Family enjoys this-especially good for weekend lunch. The longer it marinates the better the flavor. We thought yogurt was bland so we use ranch dressing or tzatziki. We also use either pita pockets or tortilla wraps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irayd8 no more!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evergreen Park, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Loved this! As other reviewers suggested, I added cucumber. I also added a little pepper to the chicken marinade for extra flavor. And finally, I cooked the onions in olive oil for a couple minutes before adding the chicken, rather than adding them to the sandwich raw. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This dish was okay. It really needed something. I tried it with some prepared tzatziki and it was still missing something. Plus the kids pitas were falling apart and it was driving them crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Used Sour Cream, Dill, and Garlic for the sauce (if you don't have the yogurt)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gourmet Chicken Sandwich

This is a cut above your everyday chicken sandwich. So satisfying to bite into!

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Mediterranean Chicken Sandwich

Tender chicken and veggies topped with melty mozzarella and feta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States