Marinated Chicken Pita Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This was absolutely delicious as well as authentic & I'm honored to be the first to rate it. It's got the perfect mix of citrus/spice flavor (make sure to use fresh lemon juice---big difference in flavor). We added sliced cucumber in the pita & my husband had some deli purchased dill dip on the side, but I wouldn't change anything on recipe itself. This was so good in fact that I'm going to use the marinade to make Greek Potatoes, since the one offered on Allrecipes lacks any authenticity. Thanks Dave, obviously we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIE2830

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This is such a great recipe. I'm so glad I picked this one. The only thing I did different was add some feta cheese. Also the canned lemon juice didn't make it taste too bad either. I will make this recipe again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
This was a very tasty recipe. Make sure to use exactly the suggested amount of lemon juice, or even less - it was a touch strong, almost sour, but I wasn't measuring exactly so it may be my fault - in short, if you have very sensitive tastebuds, go easy on the lemon juice. Other than that, delicious, and I agree with the other reviewer this would make an absolutely wonderful chicken marinade, especially for BBQ. I didn't have any yogurt on hand so I substituted with sour cream - delicious, and we also stuffed some lettuce in our pitas. Our pitas were falling apart so I can see why using tortillas instead would make sense. On the whole - flavourful and delicious - tastes Greek.. mmm...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I marinated the chicken for almost 24 hours. I added some cayenne, but followed the recipe exactly otherwise. I put it in a pita with lettuce mix, tomatoes, red onions, & hummus. The flavor of the chicken was great and not too lemony. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Wonderful & light! I didn't really change much - just more cheese! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
YUMMY! This was good. I only marinated for like 1.5 hours because I didn't plan ahead and I got hungry. It was still very very good. Next time I will plan ahead more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I'm the only one in my family that wasn't nuts over this chicken. So I decided they trumped me... I gave it 5 stars. It's very flavorful chicken, I'll be making it again soon for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I also didn't marinate for 3 hours-closer to 1 1/2, but it didn't matter, the chicken was incredibly flavorful and tender. We ate these with "Peppy's Pita Bread" from this site, and it was great. My husband and 5yo son went nuts for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
This was just ok to me. The chicken didn't have quite enough flavor. I would recommend dumping out the marinade before cooking if you like your chicken browned. Otherwise it sort of poaches in the extra marinade. I would also recommend making tzatziki (sp?) instead of just using plain yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I was very excited to try this recipe...it sounded delicious, and all the ingredients were exciting! When I made it however, I was very disappointed that the chicken tasted just like olive oil, and nothing else! I marinated overnight, and was really looking forward to a tasty dish, and it was all delicious, except for the main part, the chicken marinade. If I make it again, I may not use any oil at all, just the lemon juice, and I'll add more fresh herbs to the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gourmet Chicken Sandwich

This is a cut above your everyday chicken sandwich. So satisfying to bite into!

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Mediterranean Chicken Sandwich

Tender chicken and veggies topped with melty mozzarella and feta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States