Marinated Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I use this recipe for my "signature" appetizer at all functions and it is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
WOW! I had this for the first time at a Church function and it was fantastic. I was a little leery of trying it after I read some of the reviews posted here (mainly problems with the cream cheese), but I didn't have any problem. I used Meijer brand cream cheese (full fat brand), and put it in the freezer for a bit. If you work quickly slicing it, there shouldn't be a problem. The only thing I did differently was to use fresh basil instead of dry, and Splenda for the sugar. I also poured off most of the oil before serving, and it was fantastic. If you do pour off the oil, don't throw it away!! We saved it and brushed it on the bread we used to make the Double Tomato Bruschetta on this site, which is also fantastic. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
This is awesome. I have made this on numerous occasions and everytime I take it somewhere, I am asked for the recipe... EVERYTIME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I used cream cheese and cheddar cheese, and the marinate exactly as recipe states. The cheddar cheese was good. I don't know if I will make this again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGIZ74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermitage, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This was a huge hit as an appetizer at Thanksgiving. I marinated it overnight and then poured off a little of the oil before plating it up. Gorgeous presentation and great flavor. I will definitely be making this again... maybe even as soon as Christmas Eve :) Oh... and to those that were having trouble with slicing up the cream cheese, I would recommend using a piece of dental floss instead of a knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley Center, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Was OK but not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marathon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I am really on the fence on this one, it does make a nice presentation, however, the vinegar is way too overpowering. I was really excited to make this because I've wanted to make it for a long time, but was really disappointed with the taste. The first bite I thought was really bad, then I waited a few days & tried it again & it was ok, so I can't make up my mind...I wouldn't make it for anybody tho....sorry, I was realy disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I make this recipe all the time. My family and friends always ask for it. I use bottled Italian Dressing istead of the oil and seasoning mixture. I just pour the dressing over the cheese, onions, pimento and the parsley. It is much easier and tastes the same if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I really didn't like this recipe as written. The marinade did not have much flavor and I had to add a lot of additional seasoning. The presentation was very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I didnt give the cheese overnight to marinate. Ended up cheese in soup! Yeck. Will follow directions next time, b/c this seemed to have good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Fig Brulee with Burrata Cheese

See how to make a quick and easy “burnt” fig appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States