Marinated Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
I could not find white wine vinegar so I used red. I used white cheddar cheese, but I think the orange wouuld give more contrast against the cream cheese. One of my friend suggested arranging the cheese in a circle and it would look like a Christmas wreath. There was a lot of marinate left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
this was soooo good - i have made it several times and each time it was gone in about 5 minutes. I agree with some of the other reviewers that the crean cheese is difficult to slice, but once it's on crackers or tiny toast no one cares - they just want to eat it !!! a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
I made this for a large party and no one had seconds. Everything else I served was cleaned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valencia, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
Well, I have to say I was very disappointed with this, especially since it got such a high rating. I made the marinade exactly as stated. I used only cheddar cheese, and found that after letting it sit for almost 2 days, the cheese was nothing but cheese with sauce on it. The cheddar hadn't absorbed any of the marinade. And the marinade itself was was too sour. I am going to add some more sugar to what I have left, just so we will eat it. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
I give this 5 stars for taste but the prep and presentation needs some work. The cream cheese tasted wonderful but was very difficult to work with. I ended up with very tasty blobs. The cheddar cheese didn't seem to absorb the marinade as well as the cream chesse. I think when I make it again I will use other soft cheese like havarti, mozzerella or gouda. And find a different, softer yellow cheese. Any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaisinKane aka Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Damascus, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
I had this at my cousin's BBQ..It was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
This was very beautiful, but looks aren't everything. I was a little disappointed that all those ingredients didn't deliver more interesting flavor. Probably won't make this again, too time consuming for just fair results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
Wow!! This was sooo good. The favorite was the cream cheese but is was so hard to cut and didn't hold its shape while marinating so I just marinated the whole block and served it with the sauce poured over it. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatarat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paragonah, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
I took this to a party and it was a big hit. I did make a few minor changes. I substituted diced sundried tomatoes for the pimento and used 1-1/2 tsp minced fresh basil. I also used cheddar and monterey jack cheese. I want to try mozzarella and other cheeses next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
I'm afraid I'll have to agree with those who did not care for this recipe. The presentation was pretty...nice and colorful, but no one at our family gathering gave it a "thumbs up". I'll keep looking for that "special" recipe to add to my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Fig Brulee with Burrata Cheese

See how to make a quick and easy “burnt” fig appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States