Marinated Black-Eyed Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Fabulous Recipie! Only I used fresh pea's, or fresh frozen. Keeps it crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
AMAZING! This stuff is so good. i followed the recipe exactly, and it was eaten quickly. we keep it in our fridge to eat with chips and even in fajita tortillas for a light meal. let marinate at least overnight, it gets better and better the longer it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This was a wonderful addition to our New Year's lunch and a creative way to serve black-eyed peas. Instead of using it as a salad, we served it as an appetizer with tortilla chips. My brother returned to our house later in the day to see if we had any left -- it was that good! To make it a little healthier, I substituted a cup of lowfat italian dressing in lieu of the olive oil and vinegars and omitted the bacon. Also substituted fresh cilantro for the parsley because that is what I had on hand. This recipe gets better over time, so plan to make it at least 24 hours in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YMATLOSZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Maybe it's just not my thing.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This was excellent, it is very similar to the black-eyed pea salad that I order every time I go to my favorite restaurant. I have been trying to pinpoint the ingredients for ages, I never would've guessed a pinch of cumin was the secret weapon!! I also loved the combo of vinegars...balsamic alone is just too much for me. I forgot to get a jalapeno pepper and didn't care to add bacon, but otherwise followed this recipe to a T, and it was VERY VERY good. I rarely give 5 stars, but having this in my arsenal has made my day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerbecky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I've made this salad twice now, and each time everyone went back for more, and wanted to know how to make it! I omit the garlic because I'm alergic, and it tastes great without it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I took this to a pot luck last night and everyone loved it. With black eyed peas selling at $1.49 a can, I decided to make my own peas in the slow cooker the day before (they were $1.49 a bag!). I put them in the refrigerator overnight and drained them the next day to make the salad. I used cilantro in place of parsley. Yummy! Absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Really good! Followed the recipes exactly and marinated for about 6 hours. The cumin really is the secret ingredient in this recipe! My 3 year old loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Fabulous! I was looking to recreate the black-eyed pea salad served at our local BBQ joint -- this is it! My only tweak was to use jarred jalapenos, no yellow pepper, and extra cumin ('cause I LOVE it!) I agree with other reviewers -- make it at least a day ahead, because it gets more fabulous the longer it sits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This is a great recipe! The only changes I made were to use a bag of dried black-eyed peas and an orange and a yellow pepper instead of red. This salad has just the right amount of spice to satisfy spice lovers but not overwhelm your more cautious friends. When I got home late and hadn't eaten dinner, I found myself eating way more of this than I should have, but then I reminded myself how healthy it is and kept eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandajo
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States