Marinated Black-Eyed Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This was excellent, it is very similar to the black-eyed pea salad that I order every time I go to my favorite restaurant. I have been trying to pinpoint the ingredients for ages, I never would've guessed a pinch of cumin was the secret weapon!! I also loved the combo of vinegars...balsamic alone is just too much for me. I forgot to get a jalapeno pepper and didn't care to add bacon, but otherwise followed this recipe to a T, and it was VERY VERY good. I rarely give 5 stars, but having this in my arsenal has made my day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerbecky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
AMAZING! This stuff is so good. i followed the recipe exactly, and it was eaten quickly. we keep it in our fridge to eat with chips and even in fajita tortillas for a light meal. let marinate at least overnight, it gets better and better the longer it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I took this to a pot luck last night and everyone loved it. With black eyed peas selling at $1.49 a can, I decided to make my own peas in the slow cooker the day before (they were $1.49 a bag!). I put them in the refrigerator overnight and drained them the next day to make the salad. I used cilantro in place of parsley. Yummy! Absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Fabulous Recipie! Only I used fresh pea's, or fresh frozen. Keeps it crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This was a wonderful addition to our New Year's lunch and a creative way to serve black-eyed peas. Instead of using it as a salad, we served it as an appetizer with tortilla chips. My brother returned to our house later in the day to see if we had any left -- it was that good! To make it a little healthier, I substituted a cup of lowfat italian dressing in lieu of the olive oil and vinegars and omitted the bacon. Also substituted fresh cilantro for the parsley because that is what I had on hand. This recipe gets better over time, so plan to make it at least 24 hours in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YMATLOSZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
When it comes to black eyed peas I am the only one in my house who can stomache them! But on new years I make everyone have a serving, can be too safe you know! Every year I try to find a different way to prepare them to make it easier for them! This recipe is it, not only did they eat them they liked them and I put the leftovers in the fridge and those got eaten too!!! THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terry6pak

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Fabulous! I was looking to recreate the black-eyed pea salad served at our local BBQ joint -- this is it! My only tweak was to use jarred jalapenos, no yellow pepper, and extra cumin ('cause I LOVE it!) I agree with other reviewers -- make it at least a day ahead, because it gets more fabulous the longer it sits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
A little too spicy for some of my guests, but DH loved it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Fixed this salad for my Christmas party. Everybody loved it. Best part--can be made ahead. It only gets better with time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
My husband loved this. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States