Marinated Black-Eyed Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
A little too spicy for some of my guests, but DH loved it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Fixed this salad for my Christmas party. Everybody loved it. Best part--can be made ahead. It only gets better with time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
My husband loved this. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This is a great recipe! The only changes I made were to use a bag of dried black-eyed peas and an orange and a yellow pepper instead of red. This salad has just the right amount of spice to satisfy spice lovers but not overwhelm your more cautious friends. When I got home late and hadn't eaten dinner, I found myself eating way more of this than I should have, but then I reminded myself how healthy it is and kept eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandajo
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Fabulous! I was looking to recreate the black-eyed pea salad served at our local BBQ joint -- this is it! My only tweak was to use jarred jalapenos, no yellow pepper, and extra cumin ('cause I LOVE it!) I agree with other reviewers -- make it at least a day ahead, because it gets more fabulous the longer it sits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Really good! Followed the recipes exactly and marinated for about 6 hours. The cumin really is the secret ingredient in this recipe! My 3 year old loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I took this to a pot luck last night and everyone loved it. With black eyed peas selling at $1.49 a can, I decided to make my own peas in the slow cooker the day before (they were $1.49 a bag!). I put them in the refrigerator overnight and drained them the next day to make the salad. I used cilantro in place of parsley. Yummy! Absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I've made this salad twice now, and each time everyone went back for more, and wanted to know how to make it! I omit the garlic because I'm alergic, and it tastes great without it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This was excellent, it is very similar to the black-eyed pea salad that I order every time I go to my favorite restaurant. I have been trying to pinpoint the ingredients for ages, I never would've guessed a pinch of cumin was the secret weapon!! I also loved the combo of vinegars...balsamic alone is just too much for me. I forgot to get a jalapeno pepper and didn't care to add bacon, but otherwise followed this recipe to a T, and it was VERY VERY good. I rarely give 5 stars, but having this in my arsenal has made my day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerbecky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Maybe it's just not my thing.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States