Marinated Black-Eyed Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This was excellent, it is very similar to the black-eyed pea salad that I order every time I go to my favorite restaurant. I have been trying to pinpoint the ingredients for ages, I never would've guessed a pinch of cumin was the secret weapon!! I also loved the combo of vinegars...balsamic alone is just too much for me. I forgot to get a jalapeno pepper and didn't care to add bacon, but otherwise followed this recipe to a T, and it was VERY VERY good. I rarely give 5 stars, but having this in my arsenal has made my day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerbecky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
AMAZING! This stuff is so good. i followed the recipe exactly, and it was eaten quickly. we keep it in our fridge to eat with chips and even in fajita tortillas for a light meal. let marinate at least overnight, it gets better and better the longer it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I took this to a pot luck last night and everyone loved it. With black eyed peas selling at $1.49 a can, I decided to make my own peas in the slow cooker the day before (they were $1.49 a bag!). I put them in the refrigerator overnight and drained them the next day to make the salad. I used cilantro in place of parsley. Yummy! Absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Fabulous Recipie! Only I used fresh pea's, or fresh frozen. Keeps it crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This was a wonderful addition to our New Year's lunch and a creative way to serve black-eyed peas. Instead of using it as a salad, we served it as an appetizer with tortilla chips. My brother returned to our house later in the day to see if we had any left -- it was that good! To make it a little healthier, I substituted a cup of lowfat italian dressing in lieu of the olive oil and vinegars and omitted the bacon. Also substituted fresh cilantro for the parsley because that is what I had on hand. This recipe gets better over time, so plan to make it at least 24 hours in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YMATLOSZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
When it comes to black eyed peas I am the only one in my house who can stomache them! But on new years I make everyone have a serving, can be too safe you know! Every year I try to find a different way to prepare them to make it easier for them! This recipe is it, not only did they eat them they liked them and I put the leftovers in the fridge and those got eaten too!!! THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terry6pak

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Fabulous! I was looking to recreate the black-eyed pea salad served at our local BBQ joint -- this is it! My only tweak was to use jarred jalapenos, no yellow pepper, and extra cumin ('cause I LOVE it!) I agree with other reviewers -- make it at least a day ahead, because it gets more fabulous the longer it sits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
A little too spicy for some of my guests, but DH loved it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Fixed this salad for my Christmas party. Everybody loved it. Best part--can be made ahead. It only gets better with time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
My husband loved this. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States