Marinated Black-Eyed Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
A little too spicy for some of my guests, but DH loved it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Fixed this salad for my Christmas party. Everybody loved it. Best part--can be made ahead. It only gets better with time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
My husband loved this. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This is a great recipe! The only changes I made were to use a bag of dried black-eyed peas and an orange and a yellow pepper instead of red. This salad has just the right amount of spice to satisfy spice lovers but not overwhelm your more cautious friends. When I got home late and hadn't eaten dinner, I found myself eating way more of this than I should have, but then I reminded myself how healthy it is and kept eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandajo
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Fabulous! I was looking to recreate the black-eyed pea salad served at our local BBQ joint -- this is it! My only tweak was to use jarred jalapenos, no yellow pepper, and extra cumin ('cause I LOVE it!) I agree with other reviewers -- make it at least a day ahead, because it gets more fabulous the longer it sits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Really good! Followed the recipes exactly and marinated for about 6 hours. The cumin really is the secret ingredient in this recipe! My 3 year old loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I took this to a pot luck last night and everyone loved it. With black eyed peas selling at $1.49 a can, I decided to make my own peas in the slow cooker the day before (they were $1.49 a bag!). I put them in the refrigerator overnight and drained them the next day to make the salad. I used cilantro in place of parsley. Yummy! Absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I've made this salad twice now, and each time everyone went back for more, and wanted to know how to make it! I omit the garlic because I'm alergic, and it tastes great without it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This was excellent, it is very similar to the black-eyed pea salad that I order every time I go to my favorite restaurant. I have been trying to pinpoint the ingredients for ages, I never would've guessed a pinch of cumin was the secret weapon!! I also loved the combo of vinegars...balsamic alone is just too much for me. I forgot to get a jalapeno pepper and didn't care to add bacon, but otherwise followed this recipe to a T, and it was VERY VERY good. I rarely give 5 stars, but having this in my arsenal has made my day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerbecky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Maybe it's just not my thing.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States