Marinated Beet Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Overall I thought this was very good. I used fresh beets because I had them and Vidalia Onion fresh from the farm. The mustard flavor was a little overpowering, so next time I may reduce it slightly. It did get better with time for all the flavors to mingle. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Great recipe, I have multiplied this recipe 30 times to make a huge batch and it comes out great! This is the perfect balance of sweet and tart. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Besitos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I made this using Splenda instead of sugar....which requires doubling the amount of Splenda to give it proper sweetness. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This is delicious! Only made one can, but wish I made a dozen!! So easy and so tasty. I love dill so added some fresh dill, as per suggestions, but even without the dill, it is a five star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Fantastic! Made just as the recipe called for except I subbed half the sugar for Splenda. Very easy and tasty! Thanks for the recipe! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiBach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Love this receipe. I added a firm tofu to it and it becomes a great lunch option to take to the office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I was surprised at how quickly this salad went. Everyone loved it. I used red wine vinegar instead of white, because that's what I had, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah and Stuart
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
We have eaten this all year! I was looking for a recipe like the salad my grandmother used to make, and this was so refreshing and wonderful. The first time I made it my husband licked the bowl clean! Any substitutions happened after we'd made it "by the book" the first time. I did use fresh beets all summer from our CSA, boiling them in their skins and then peeling and slicing them. The most major change I made was adding heaps of fresh dill to the recipe, which my aunt commented on specifically at our summer BBQ ("I never would have thought to add dill, but it's amazing). DISCLAIMER: you have to like dill to add it! LOL. We also added lots of onion, and slices of cucumber and radishes. Sometimes I used jarred mustard and sometimes mustard powder. I reserved a little bit of the beet water when I boiled it, and added that to the vinegar/sugar marinade. Only rule is that you have to refrigerate it for a while to get the full effect. Delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah and Stuart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Warrington, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Very good!! I did add some salt and pepper, and used red wine vinegar. We'll do this again - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States